Search results (423)

Media releases (113) News (24) Web content (79) Documents (137) Contacts (69) Jobs (1)

Media releases

Scientific policy advice in crises

The institutions in the fields of education, research and innovation (ERI) welcome the implementation proposal for the involvement of scientific advisory bodies in crises, which the Federal Council has approved.

Federal Council appoints Christian Rüegg as Director of the PSI for a further term of office

On 8 December, the Federal Council appointed Christian Rüegg as Director of the PSI for a further four years from 1 April 2024. The PSI is the largest research institute for natural and engineering sciences in Switzerland.

ETH-Rat discusses optimal structure to meet future challenges

At its meeting of 6–7 December, the ETH Board discussed the future challenges facing society and how the ETH Domain can address them with an optimum structure. At the same time, the ETH Board is holding talks with various partners and stakeholders.

14 new professors appointed at ETH Zurich and EPFL

The ETH Board appointed 4 women and 10 men as professors and awarded the title of Professor of Practice to one individual. It also took note of the resignations of 11 professors and thanked them for their services.

The ETH Board reiterates its call for rapid association to the Horizon Europe package

The ETH Board welcomes the developments in Swiss-EU relations announced by the Federal Council on 8 November and by the European Commission on 21 November.

Review of the structure of the ETH Domain

At the request of the Federal Council and on the recommendation of a panel of international experts, the ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain are reviewing the current structure of the ETH Domain.

ERI Dispatch 2025–2028: ERI partners fear cutback in services

The universities and research and innovation promotion organisations are calling for significant, real growth for the entire ERI sector over the next four-year period.

ERI Dispatch 2025–2028: insufficient funding for the ETH Domain

The ETH Domain depends on adequate, stable funding from the Confederation if it is to fulfil its role in driving innovation for Switzerland and educating urgently needed specialists.

10 new professors appointed at ETH Zurich and EPFL

The ETH Board appointed four women and six men as professors and awarded the title of professor to five individuals. It also took note of the resignation of one professor and thanked him for his services.

List of public contracts awarded by the ETH Board in 2022 exceeding CHF 50,000

Pursuant to Art. 27 of the Ordinance on Public Procurement, contracting authorities subject to the Swiss federal legislation on public procurement are required once a year to report in electronic form on their public contracts exceeding CHF 50,000.

15 new professors appointed at ETH Zurich and EPFL

The ETH Board appointed 5 women and 10 men as professors and awarded the title of Professor to one individual and the title of Professor of Practice to one individual. It also took note of the resignation of one professor and thanked him for his services.

Strategy regarding the development of student numbers in the ETH Domain

The skills shortages and the strong demand on the Swiss labour market for holders of ETH degrees justifies the increase in student numbers at the Federal Institutes of Technology. However, the constant growth in numbers poses considerable challenges.

Load More

News

Imaging at the next level

Their names are Marianne Liebi Adrian Wanner. Two young researchers who make the nanostructure of macroscopic samples, such as bones or brain tissue, visible in three dimensions using high-resolution images.

“It all comes down to the last atom”

Empa researchers have developed novel materials made of carbon that exploit quantum effects to exhibit previously unattainable electronic and magnetic properties.

“The magic of 8 and 24”

Professor of number theory Maryna Viazovska has solved a mathematical problem that has stumped researchers for centuries. This achievement brought her recognition with the Fields Medal, which is something like a “Nobel Prize for Mathematics”.

Start-ups worth a billion

The institutions of the ETH Domain produce around 60 spin-offs each year. Among them, five are valued at over one billion dollars. Here is an introduction to these five “unicorns”.

“Carbon dioxide can be turned into a valuable resource”

The Swiss energy system is expected to be climate-neutral by 2050. The key to this is science: CO2 can be converted by electrolysis into raw materials for chemicals or synthetic fuels and the cost of a fossil-free energy system can be calculated using modelling.

What isotopes reveal about climate change

Matthias Saurer is a physicist and heads the WSL isotope laboratory where complex measuring procedures are used to determine plants’ isotope ratios. These provide answers to questions about the nutrient and water balance in forests, for example, and provide important foundations for environmental and climate research.

Talented mathematician and cycling sensation

Anna Kiesenhofer has a doctorate in mathematics and was doing research as a postdoc at EPFL on partial differential equations when she qualified for the cycling road race at the Olympic Games in Tokyo and won the gold medal in sensational fashion. She sees parallels between mathematics and cycling which were instrumental in her success.   

Natural toxins: from the arsenal of a bacterium

Cyanobacteria are ancient organisms. The most varied types of shells without a core, which, at high density in warm waters, can secrete complex substances and also toxins. Some are toxic to both humans and animals. Elisabeth Janssen is on the trail of these natural toxins: applied research, the results of which can be incorporated into water protection or water management.

Quantum leap in the quantum sciences

Quantum physics has a long tradition at ETH Zurich. Now it is further expanding its teaching and research activities. Around 150 students are completing the novel Master’s degree programme in Quantum Engineering, there is a “Quantum Center” and quantum computers are to be built in the ETHZ-PSI Quantum Computing Hub.

The benefits of mistakes in science

Failing to perform an experiment, considering the wrong hypothesis, having a paper rejected: failure is not only normal in science, it is also essential for cutting-edge research. What is the experience of researchers in the ETH Domain with this sensitive topic?

“Scientific cooperation is of indisputable benefit to all parties”

A pan-European initiative launched at the behest of the Swiss and British research communities calls for the two countries to be rapidly reintegrated into European science.

Next Target: Net Zero Emissions

What are the institutions of the ETH Domain doing to reduce the CO2 emissions of their buildings? An overview shows: quite a lot, from anergy and waste heat to district heating and photovoltaics.

Load More

Web content

test page

Auf dieser Seite sind nach Aktenzeichen die Entscheide der ETH-Beschwerdekommission seit dem 1. Januar 2024 aufgelistet. Hier klicken für Entscheidungen vor 2024 (Link). Die Entscheide sind jeweils nur in einer Sprache verfügbar, entweder auf Deutsch oder auf Französisch.

Environment & energy

The ETH Domain seeks to play a pioneering role in climate protection. The two Federal Institutes of Technology as well as the four research institutes have common goals in terms of environmental protection and, in providing their respective services, make the best possible use of the resources they require for their proper functioning.

Strategic Focus Areas and Strategic Areas

The three Strategic Focus Areas defined for the ERI period 2021–2024 are Personalized Health and Related Technologies, Data Science, and Advanced Manufacturing. In the Strategic Plan 2025–2028, published in July 2022, the ETH Board defines five Strategic Areas.

Zwischenevaluation des ETH-Bereichs

Alle vier Jahre wird der ETH-Bereich durch eine Gruppe von nationalen und internationalen Expertinnen und Experten im Auftrag des Departements für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) eingehend evaluiert.

Joint Initiatives

Joint Initiatives are large-scale initiatives carried out jointly by the institutions of the ETH Domain and external partners. Their topic relates to one of the Strategic Areas defined by the ETH Board.

Review of the structure of the ETH Domain

At the request of the Federal Council and on the recommendation of a panel of international experts, the ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain are reviewing the current structure of the ETH Domain. The overarching aim is to ensure that Switzerland is better equipped for the challenges that lie ahead. Three options for the future are currently being drawn up.

Intermediate Evaluation 2023 of the ETH Domain

Every four years, half way through its funding period, the ETH Domain undergoes a thorough evaluation by a group of national and international experts mandated by the head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER). The ETH Board would like to thank the Expert Committee of the 2023 Intermediate Evaluation for its in-depth examination of the ETH Domain and its institutions. The examination of the current strengths and weaknesses as well as the productive exchange and stimulating discussions resulted in forward-looking recommendations that are both supportive and challenging. The implementation of these recommendations will support the ETH Domain’s development to the benefit of Switzerland’s education and research sector, economy and society. The ETH Board is pleased by the experts’ overall assessment of the exceptional quality of the ETH Domain institutions. The ETH Board is also satisfied that the experts have noted significant progress since the last Intermediate Evaluation in 2019 and is aware of the need to continue its constant reflection on how best to further improve the performance and the impact of the ETH Domain and to respond to upcoming challenges. In this Response to the Recommendations of the Expert Committee, the ETH Board addresses each of the recommendations and presents its considerations and ongoing activities with regard to the points raised by the experts. This is followed by “action lines” with which the ETH Board and the ETH Domain institutions intend to address the recommendations at a general, domain-wide level. More concrete measures are subsequently developed and implemented at the level of the individual institutions. The ETH Board believes that it is crucial for the ETH Domain institutions to maintain their ability to compete with the best institutions worldwide and to remain the flagship of the Swiss education, research and innovation (ERI) sector. Through their excellence in teaching, research and knowledge and technology transfer (KTT), the institutions of the ETH Domain enhance the attractiveness of the Swiss ERI sector as well as the prosperity and competitiveness of Swiss society and the Swiss economy. In response to the Expert Committee’s report and recommendations, the ETH Board considers the following points in particular to be essential for the successful development of the ETH Domain: The institutions of the ETH Domain give the highest priority to research-based teaching. They continue to take the necessary action to maintain and improve the quality of education in the long term and in the context of a growing student population – an important contribution to help counteract the shortage of experts in Switzerland. They pay particular attention to assessing the relevance of educational programmes in light of the present and future demands of the economy, industry, research and the public sector.The institutions of the ETH Domain continue to perform research at the highest level and contribute to anticipating and resolving the most pressing local, national and global challenges. Attracting and retaining the best talent is a major condition for ensuring excellence. Another key factor in the ETH Domain’s international attractiveness are Switzerland's first-class research infrastructures. The institutions of the ETH Domain further strengthen their leading role in conceptualising, developing, operating and upgrading large-scale research infrastructures and platforms.The institutions of the ETH Domain actively contribute to Switzerland’s innovative capacity by further strengthening their key role in knowledge and technology transfer for the benefit of the economy and industry (young companies as well as SMEs and established companies), the public sector and society. They continuously develop their KTT instruments to enable simple and straightforward processes.The ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain are engaged in a future-oriented discussion on the mission of the ETH Domain and, building on this, on the question of strategic orientation and the optimal structure as one of their central tasks and responsibilities. They evaluate various options on how to best position and organise the ETH Domain to meet future needs.The institutions of the ETH Domain further strengthen an inclusive and respectful culture and working and studying environment, recognising that inclusion is key to realising the full potential of diversity. They build on existing policies to develop and implement a corresponding strategy.The institutions of the ETH Domain contribute to the translation of research into concrete solutions and policies in order to respond promptly to urgent challenges by intensifying the dialogue between academic actors, public authorities and society. They play a leading role in the development and implementation of the strategies to improve the involvement of the scientific community in future crisis situations.   In order to address the above aspects, the corresponding political and financial framework conditions are indispensable. The Expert Committee mentions the following points, which the ETH Board would like to underline: International openness: To compete at the highest international level, to attract the best talent and to maintain excellence, international openness and multilateral scientific collaborations are essential. Switzerland's full association with the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation Horizon Europe, Digital Europe, Euratom Research and Training Programme and ITER is of utmost importance for the ETH Domain.Stable and reliable funding: Only with sufficient financial resources can the ETH Domain continue to fulfil its flagship role for the Swiss ERI sector and – in a context of growth in student numbers – maintain the quality of education and meet the demands of economy, industry and the public sector for highly qualified personnel.

The ETH Domain, an essential component of the Swiss model for success

With its two Federal Institutes of Technology and four research institutions, the ETH Domain contributes to Switzerland’s prosperity and ensures the country’s place among the major scientific nations. The inadequate financial resources allocated by the Confederation for the period 2025-2028 jeopardise this model for success.

Members of ETH Board

The ETH Board consists of a President and ten other members, all of whom are elected by the Federal Council. As a college, it has the necessary political, scientific, economic, managerial and legal competencies to ensure the sustainable development of the ETH Domain.

Measure 2: Coordination of Access to Research Data Management (RDM) Services & Infrastructures

The main goals of this measure are the standardization, federation, or mutualization of existing services and infrastructure across the ETH Domain. It also aims to improve interoperability of existing services and fil gaps, considering the full data lifecycle: data (1) planning, (2) acquisition, (3) processing and analysis, (4) publication and re-use, (5) long-term preservation, (6) disposal. As a starting point, a survey of existing ORD services and infrastructure was conducted. Please see here the result of the landscape analysis.

Load More

Documents

PDF

Strategic Plan 2025–2028

PDF

Report of the Expert Committee

PDF

Self-Assessment Report of the ETH Board

PDF

Response of the ETH Board

PDF

ERI Dispatch 2025–2028: Joint press release of the ERI Partners

PDF

List of public contracts in 2022 (only in German)

PDF

ETH-Rat | Positionspapier (German or French)

PDF

EPFL | Stellungnahme (German or French)

PDF

ETH Zürich | Positionspapier (German or French)

PDF

Netzwerk FUTURE | Positionspapier BFI Botschaft 2025-2028 (German or French)

PDF

Preface | Strategie in Bezug auf die Entwicklung der Studierendenzahlen im ETH-Bereich

PDF

Strategy regarding the development of student numbers in the ETH Domain

Load More

Contacts

Andreas Aeschbacher

Real Estate
ETH Board Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Pascale Bruderer


Josefa Haas

Head of Communications swissuniversities

Michael Seiler

Real Estate
ETH Board Hirschengraben 3
3011 Bern

Dominic Kamer

Finance Finance & HR
ETH Board Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Dr Sabrina Krank

Real Estate
ETH Board Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Dr Nikolaus Thumm

Sciences
ETH Board Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

GS-EAER Communications


Simone Tichy Illi

Legal services
ETH Board Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Maryline Maillard

Head of EU and International Affairs Communication
ETH Board Hirschengraben 3
3011 Bern

Prof. Dr Michael O. Hengartner

President of the ETH Board Presidium & Management
ETH Board Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Prof. Dr Christian Rüegg

Director of PSI

Load More

Jobs

Praktikant/-in Kommunikation (50 %)

Der ETH-Rat ist das strategische Führungs- und Aufsichtsorgan des ETH-Bereichs, welcher aus den beiden Hochschulen ETH Zürich und EPFL sowie den vier Forschungsanstalten PSI, WSL, Empa und Eawag besteht. Bei der Vorbereitung und Umsetzung seiner Geschäfte wird der ETH-Rat durch seinen Stab unterstützt. Der Stabsbereich Kommunikation des ETH-Rats ist für die Umsetzung der Kommunikation des ...

More

Résultats de recherche (467)

Communiqués de presse (135) Nouvelles (24) Contenu web (79) Documents (161) Personnes (68)

Communiqués de presse

Décès de Heinrich Ursprung, ancien président du Conseil des EPF

Heinrich Ursprung a étudié à l’Université de Zurich, où il a obtenu son doctorat en biologie. Après plusieurs années à l’Université Johns Hopkins de Baltimore, Etats-Unis, il a rejoint l’ETH Zurich en tant que professeur ordinaire en 1969 et a été président de l’Ecole de 1973 à 1987. A ce titre, il a été nommé à ...

Négociations bilatérales: lettre ouverte au Conseil fédéral

Seule une stabilisation des relations bilatérales avec l’Union européenne peut garantir une association à long terme de la Suisse aux programmes de l’UE pour la formation, la recherche et l’innovation

Le Conseil des EFP déplore la réduction du budget du Domaine des EPF

Le Conseil des EPF regrette la décision du Conseil fédéral de réduire de 100 mio CHF le budget du Domaine des EPF. Ces coupes affaiblissent le Domaine des EPF et entravent la réalisation de ses objectifs au profit de l'économie et de la société.

Prise de position du Domaine des EPF sur le plan d'études cadre pour les écoles de maturité

La Conférence des directrices et directeurs cantonaux de l'instruction publique organise une consultation sur l'actualisation du plan d'études cadre des écoles de maturité.

Conseil scientifique dans le champ politique en temps de crise

Les institutions du domaine de la formation, de la recherche et de l'innovation (FRI) saluent la proposition de mise en œuvre pour l'implication d’organes consultatifs scientifiques en cas de crise, approuvée par le Conseil fédéral.

Le Conseil fédéral confirme Christian Rüegg à la tête du PSI

Le 8 décembre 2023, le Conseil fédéral a reconduit Christian Rüegg au poste de directeur du PSI pour un nouveau mandat de quatre ans, qui débutera le 1er avril 2024.

Le Conseil des EPF discute d’une structure optimale pour être en mesure de relever les défis futurs

A l’occasion de sa séance des 6 et 7 décembre 2023, le Conseil des EPF a discuté des défis sociétaux à venir et de la structure optimale à donner au Domaine des EPF pour que celui-ci puisse y répondre. Il échange actuellement avec différents partenaires et parties prenantes à ce sujet.

14 professeures et professeurs nommés à l’ETH Zurich et à l’EPFL

Le Conseil des EPF a nommé quatre professeures et dix professeurs, attribué un titre de professor of practice et adressé ses remerciements à onze professeurs sortants.

Le Conseil des EPF réitère son appel à une association rapide au paquet Horizon Europe

Le Conseil des EPF salue les développements de la relation Suisse-UE communiqués par le Conseil fédéral et la Commission européenne.

Réexamen de la structure du Domaine des EPF

Sur mandat du Conseil fédéral et conformément aux recommandations formulées par un comité international d’experts, le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine ont entamé les travaux relatifs au réexamen de la structure du Domaine des EPF.

Stratégie de coopération internationale 2025–2028: prise de position

Le Conseil des EPF considère qu'il est essentiel que la DDC et le SECO collaborent plus systématiquement avec les acteurs FRI en Suisse et établissent des partenariats institutionnels d'enseignement et de recherche.

Programme d’encouragement de la recherche SWEETER: prise de position

Le Conseil des EPF soutient sur le principe la poursuite du programme d’encouragement de la recherche SWEET (rebaptisé SWEETER) durant les années 2025 à 2036.

Load More

Nouvelles

L’imagerie à l’étape supérieure

Elle s’appelle Marianne Liebi, lui s’appelle Adrian Wanner. Une jeune chercheuse et un jeune chercheur qui rendent visible la nanostructure d’échantillons macroscopiques, comme des os ou du tissu cérébral, sur des images tridimensionnelles à haute résolution.

«Chaque atome compte»

Des scientifiques de l’Empa ont développé de nouveaux matériaux en carbone qui, en utilisant les effets quantiques, présentent des propriétés électroniques et magnétiques jusqu’ici inégalées.

«La magie de 8 et 24»

Maryna Viazovska, professeure de théorie des nombres, a résolu une question mathématique qui hante les scientifiques depuis des siècles. Elle a reçu pour cela la médaille Fields, qui est considérée comme le «prix Nobel des mathématiques».

Ces start-ups qui valent un milliard

Les institutions du Domaine des EPF produisent une soixantaine de spin-off chaque année. Parmi elles, cinq sont valorisées à plus d’un milliard de dollars. Présentation de ces cinq «licornes».

«Le CO2 peut devenir une précieuse ressource»

Le système énergétique suisse doit atteindre la neutralité climatique d’ici 2050. Pour y parvenir, la science apporte des solutions: transformé par électrolyse, le CO2 peut servir à fabriquer des produits chimiques ou des carburants synthétiques. La modélisation permet de calculer les coûts d’un système énergétique non fossile.

Ce que les isotopes révèlent sur le changement climatique

Physicien, Matthias Saurer dirige le laboratoire d’isotopes du WSL. Par des méthodes complexes, il mesure les rapports isotopiques des végétaux. Ces calculs renseignent notamment sur le régime hydrique et nutritif des forêts et fournissent des données essentielles pour la recherche sur l’environnement et le climat.

Mathématicienne talentueuse et cycliste sensationnelle

Docteure en mathématiques, Anna Kiesenhofer travaillait sur les équations différentielles partielles comme postdoctorante à l’EPFL quand elle s’est qualifiée pour l’épreuve de cyclisme sur route pour les Jeux olympiques de Tokyo. A la surprise générale, elle y a décroché la médaille d’or. Pour elle, les parallèles entre mathématiques et cyclisme expliquent sa réussite.

Toxines naturelles: l'arsenal d'une bactérie

Les cyanobactéries sont des organismes très anciens. Il s’agit d’enveloppes sans noyau d’espèces très variées. Par forte densité dans des eaux chaudes, elles peuvent libérer des substances complexes et des toxines, dont certaines sont toxiques pour les êtres humains et les animaux. Elisabeth Janssen traque ces toxines naturelles. Les résultats de ses travaux alimentent la protection et la gestion des eaux.

Bond en avant dans les sciences quantiques

La physique quantique est une science bien ancrée à l’ETH Zurich. Son enseignement s’y développe, de même que la recherche. La nouvelle filière de master Quantum Engineering compte près de 150 étudiantes et étudiants. Un Quantum Center a été créé, et l’ETHZ-PSI Quantum Computing Hub va construire des ordinateurs quantiques.

Les bienfaits des erreurs en science

Rater son expérience, considérer la mauvaise hypothèse, voir son article refusé: l’échec est non seulement normal en science, mais aussi essentiel à la recherche de pointe. Quelles sont les expériences des scientifiques du Domaine des EPF sur ce sujet sensible?

«La coopération scientifique profite indiscutablement à tous les partenaires»

Lancée sous l’impulsion des milieux de la recherche suisses et britanniques, une initiative paneuropéenne appelle à la réintégration rapide des deux pays dans l’Europe scientifique.

Prochain objectif : zéro émission nette

Que font les institutions du Domaine des EPF pour réduire les émissions de CO2 de leurs bâtiments ? De l’anergie à la chaleur résiduelle en passant par le chauffage à distance ou encore le photovoltaïque, de nombreuses mesures sont prises aux quatre coins de la Suisse.

Load More

Contenu web

Evaluation intermédiaire du Domaine des EPF

Le Domaine des EPF se soumet tous les quatre ans à une évaluation approfondie réalisée par un groupe d’experts suisses et étrangers mandatés par le Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR).

Décisions de la Commission de recours interne des EPF

Cette page répertorie par numéro de dossier les décisions rendues par la Commission de recours des EPF depuis le 1er décembre 2023. Cliquez ici pour les décisions antérieures à cette date. Les décisions ne sont disponibles que dans une seule langue à la fois, soit en allemand, soit en français.

Environnement & énergie

Le Domaine des EPF souhaite jouer un rôle pionnier dans la protection du climat. Les deux écoles polytechniques fédérales ainsi que les quatre établissements de recherche se fixent des objectifs communs en matière de protection de l'environnement et réalisent leurs prestations en utilisant au mieux les ressources dont ils ont besoin pour leur fonctionnement.

Grands axes stratégiques et priorités stratégiques

Pour l'actuelle période FRI 2021–2024, les trois axes stratégiques suivants ont été définis pour le Domaine des EPF: la santé personnalisée et les technologies associées, les sciences des données et l'Advanced Manufacturing. Le Plan stratégique 2025–2028, dans lequel le Conseil des EPF a défini cinq priorités stratégiques, a déjà été publié.

Initiatives conjointes

Les initiatives conjointes sont des initiatives à grande échelle réalisées en collaboration entre les institutions du Domaine des EPF et des partenaires externes. Elles s’inscrivent dans les thématiques des priorités stratégiques définies par le Conseil des EPF.

Réexamen de la structure du Domaine des EPF

Sur mandat du Conseil fédéral et conformément aux recommandations formulées par un comité international d’experts, le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine ont entamé les travaux relatifs au réexamen de la structure du Domaine des EPF. L’objectif premier consiste à permettre à la Suisse de se préparer au mieux pour relever les défis à venir. Trois options sont actuellement en cours d’élaboration.

Evaluation intermédiaire 2023 du Domaine des EPF

Tous les quatre ans, à mi-parcours de la période de financement, le Domaine des EPF fait l’objet d’une évaluation approfondie de ses activités par un groupe d’experts suisses et étrangers, mandatés pour ce faire par le chef du Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR). Le Conseil des EPF souhaite remercier le comité d’experts chargé de l’évaluation intermédiaire 2023 pour l’examen en profondeur du Domaine des EPF et de ses institutions auquel il a procédé. L’examen des points forts et des faiblesses actuels ainsi que les échanges productifs et les discussions stimulantes qui en ont résulté ont abouti à des recommandations à caractère prospectif, à la fois encourageantes et ambitieuses. La mise en œuvre de ces recommandations aidera le Domaine des EPF à poursuivre son développement au profit du secteur de la formation et de la recherche, de l’économie et de la société suisses. Le Conseil des EPF se félicite de l’évaluation générale des experts concernant la qualité exceptionnelle des institutions du Domaine des EPF. Il est également satisfait du fait que les experts ont relevé des progrès significatifs depuis la dernière évaluation intermédiaire de 2019 et est conscient de la nécessité de poursuivre sa réflexion permanente sur la meilleure manière d’améliorer encore la performance ainsi que l’impact du Domaine des EPF et de répondre aux défis à venir. Dans la présente Réponse aux recommandations du comité d’experts, le Conseil des EPF aborde chacune de ces recommandations et présente ses considérations et activités en cours concernant les points soulevés par les experts. Il expose ensuite les «lignes d’action» grâce auxquelles le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine des EPF envisagent de répondre aux recommandations à l’échelle du Domaine dans son ensemble. D’autres mesures plus concrètes seront développées et mises en œuvre par la suite au niveau de chaque institution. Le Conseil des EPF estime qu’il est crucial pour les institutions du Domaine des EPF de maintenir leur capacité à rivaliser avec les meilleurs établissements du monde et de demeurer le fleuron du secteur suisse de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation (FRI). Grâce à l’excellence de leurs activités d’enseignement, de recherche et de transfert de connaissances et de technologie (TCT), les institutions du Domaine des EPF renforcent l’attractivité du secteur FRI ainsi que la prospérité et la compétitivité de la société et de l’économie suisses. En réponse au rapport et aux recommandations du comité d’experts, le Conseil des EPF considère que les points suivants sont particulièrement essentiels à la réussite du développement du Domaine des EPF: Les institutions du Domaine des EPF donnent la priorité absolue à l’enseignement fondé sur la recherche. Elles continuent de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour maintenir et améliorer la qualité de la formation à long terme et dans un contexte de croissance de la population étudiante – une contribution importante pour pallier la pénurie de main-d'œuvre spécialisée en Suisse. Elles portent une attention particulière à l’évaluation de la pertinence des programmes de formation en fonction des besoins actuels et futurs de l’économie, de l’industrie, de la recherche et du secteur public. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF continuent de mener des activités de recherche au plus haut niveau et contribuent à anticiper et à relever les défis locaux, nationaux et mondiaux les plus urgents. Attirer et fidéliser les meilleurs talents est une condition essentielle pour garantir l’excellence. Les infrastructures de recherche de grande qualité dont dispose le Domaine des EPF sont un autre facteur-clé de son attractivité internationale. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF renforcent davantage leur rôle de leader dans la conception, le développement, l’exploitation et la mise à jour de grandes infrastructures et plateformes de recherche.  Les institutions du Domaine des EPF contribuent activement à la capacité d’innovation de la Suisse en renforçant encore leur rôle-clé en matière de transfert de connaissances et de technologie au profit de l’économie, de l’industrie (jeunes entreprises, PME et sociétés établies), du secteur public et de la société. Elles développent en continu leurs instruments de TCT pour permettre la mise en place de processus simples et directs. Le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine des EPF mènent une discussion tournée vers l'avenir à propos de la mission du Domaine des EPF. Ils développent sur cette base la question de son orientation stratégique et de sa structure optimale, une thématique qui constitue l’une de leurs principales tâches et responsabilités. Ils examinent différentes options concernant la manière de positionner et d’organiser au mieux le Domaine des EPF afin de répondre aux besoins futurs. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF poursuivent le renforcement d’une culture ainsi que d’un environnement de travail et d’études basés sur l’inclusion et le respect, et reconnaissent que l’inclusion joue un rôle-clé pour réaliser pleinement le potentiel qu'offre la diversité. Elles se fondent sur les politiques existantes pour développer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie correspondante. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF contribuent à la transposition des résultats de la recherche dans des solutions et politiques concrètes afin de répondre rapidement aux défis urgents en intensifiant le dialogue entre les acteurs académiques, les autorités politiques et la société. Elles jouent un rôle de leader dans le développement et la mise en œuvre de stratégies visant à améliorer l’implication de la communauté scientifique dans de futures situations de crise. Le Domaine des EPF doit impérativement disposer de conditions-cadres adéquates sur le plan politique et financier pour traiter les thèmes susmentionnés. Le comité d’experts mentionne les points suivants, que le Conseil des EPF souhaite souligner: Ouverture internationale: L’ouverture internationale et les collaborations scientifiques multilatérales sont essentielles pour rester compétitif au plus haut niveau mondial, attirer les meilleurs talents et préserver l’excellence. La pleine association de la Suisse au programme-cadre européen pour la recherche et l’innovation Horizon Europe, au programme pour une Europe numérique Digital Europe, au programme de recherche et de formation Euratom et à ITER revêt une importance cruciale pour le Domaine des EPF. Financement stable et fiable: Seules des ressources financières suffisantes permettront au Domaine des EPF de continuer de remplir un rôle phare pour le secteur FRI suisse, de maintenir la qualité de la formation face à la croissance des effectifs étudiants et de fournir à l’économie, à l’industrie et au secteur public le personnel hautement qualifié dont ils ont besoin.

Le Domaine des EPF, acteur essentiel du modèle de réussite suisse

Avec ses deux écoles polytechniques et ses quatre institutions de recherche, le Domaine des EPF contribue à la prospérité de la Suisse et hisse le pays parmi les grandes nations scientifiques. Les moyens financiers insuffisants accordés par la Confédération pour la période 2025-2028 nuisent à ce modèle de réussite.

Membres du Conseil des EPF

Le Conseil des EPF se compose d'un président et de dix autres membres, tous nommés par le Conseil fédéral. Il dispose comme collège des compétences politiques, scientifiques, économiques, financières et juridiques nécessaires pour assurer le développement durable du Domaine des EPF. 

Measure 2: Coordination of Access to Research Data Management (RDM) Services & Infrastructures

The main goals of this measure are the standardization, federation, or mutualization of existing services and infrastructure across the ETH Domain. It also aims to improve interoperability of existing services and fil gaps, considering the full data lifecycle: data (1) planning, (2) acquisition, (3) processing and analysis, (4) publication and re-use, (5) long-term preservation, (6) disposal. As a starting point, a survey of existing ORD services and infrastructure was conducted. Please see here the result of the landscape analysis.

Load More

Documents

PDF

Négociations bilatérales: lettre ouverte au Conseil fédéral

PDF

Plan stratégique 2025–2028

PDF

Rapport sur le budget 2024

PDF

Rapport du comité d’experts

PDF

Rapport d’auto-évaluation du Conseil des EPF (en anglais)

PDF

Réponse du Conseil des EPF

PDF

Stratégie de coopération internationale 2025–2028: prise de position

PDF

Programme d’encouragement de la recherche SWEETER: prise de position

PDF

Message FRI 2025–2028: Communiqué de presse commun des partenaires du domaine FRI

PDF

Message FRI 2025–2028: prise de position

PDF

Liste des marchés en 2022 (seulement en allemand)

PDF

Conseil des EPF | Prise de position

Load More

Personnes

Andreas Aeschbacher

Immobilier
Conseil des EPF Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Pascale Bruderer


Josefa Haas

Responsable de la communication swissuniversities

Michael Seiler

Immobilier
Conseil des EPF Hirschengraben 3
3011 Berne

Dominic Kamer

Finances Finances & RH
Conseil des EPF Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Dr. Sabrina Krank

Immobilier
Conseil des EPF Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Dr. Nikolaus Thumm

Sciences
Conseil des EPF Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Service de communication SG DEFR


Simone Tichy Illi

Service juridique
Conseil des EPF Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Maryline Maillard

Head of EU and International Affairs Communication
Conseil des EPF Hirschengraben 3
3011 Bern

Prof. Dr. Michael O. Hengartner

Président du Conseil des EPF Présidence et Direction
Conseil des EPF Häldeliweg 15
8092 Zurich

Prof. Dr Christian Rüegg

Directeur du PSI

Load More