Internal Appeals Commission of the Federal Institutes of Technology

The ETH Appeals Commission is the first-instance commission which rules on appeals against decisions or decrees of the ETH Domain institutions. The complaints as a rule involve personnel and university law issues. The rulings of the ETH Appeals Committee can be appealed against at the Swiss Federal Administrative Court.

The Commission is an independent appeal body. Its seven members are elected by the Federal Council. Its office is in Bern.


  • Barbara Gmür, Lawyer, President
  • Dr. iur. Beatrix Schibli, Vice President
  • Anne Dorthe, Lawyer
  • Prof. Dr. Simone Deparis
  • Jonas Philippe
  • Dr sc.nat. Dieter Ramseier
  • Prof. Thomas Vogel


  • Yolanda Schärli, Director
  • Sibylle Thür, Legal secretary
  • Valentine Tschümperlin, Legal secretary
  • Irène Vitous, Legal secretary
  • Natalya Spörri, Administrative staff


Yolanda Schärli, lic. iur., LL.M.
058 856 87 07

ETH-Beschwerdekommission Postfach 3001 Bern 


The decisions of the ETH Appeals Commission are available on this page. They are published in either German or French.