News & Reports

15.07.2022
Media release

At its meeting on 13 July, the ETH Board approved “Joint Initiatives” of the ETH Domain Institutions covering “Energy, Climate and Environmental Sustainability” and “Engagement and Dialogue with Society”. The ETH Board is thus boosting the activities covered by the “Strategic Areas” of the ETH Domain, as defined in its Strategic Plan 2025–2028. In addition, ...

14.07.2022
Media release

The ETH Board has appointed Dr Thomas Wohlgemuth as the new member of the WSL Directorate with effect from 1 September 2022. This appointment brings the members of the WSL Directorate to seven, of whom three are women and four men. Dr Thomas Wohlgemuth is head of the “Disturbance Ecology” research group at WSL and ...

14.07.2022
Media release

At its meeting of 13/14 July 2022 and upon application of the President of ETH Zurich, Professor Joël Mesot, and the President of EPFL, Professor Martin Vetterli, the ETH Board appointed a total of 7 women and 9 men as professors and awarded the title of professor to one individual. It also took note of ...

14.07.2022
Teaching

Anna Kiesenhofer has a doctorate in mathematics and was doing research as a postdoc at EPFL on partial differential equations when she qualified for the cycling road race at the Olympic Games in Tokyo and won the gold medal in sensational fashion. She sees parallels between mathematics and cycling which were instrumental in her success.   

sciena.ch

5.07.2022
Publications

For the period 2025–2028, the ETH Domain aims to be internationally competitive and to serve Switzerland by addressing important challenges in the context of education, research and innovation. The ETH Board prioritises five Strategic Areas to respond to most pressing global challenges, and in which the ETH Domain is well positioned to have a strong ...

29.06.2022
Media release

On 29 June, the Federal Council appointed Martin Ackermann as the new director of the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag). Mr Ackermann (51), who is currently Professor for Microbial Systems Ecology at ETH Zurich and a group leader at Eawag, succeeds Janet Hering, who has reached the age of retirement. He ...

29.06.2022
Media release

The SwissTech Convention Center (STCC) has been used and operated by the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) at its Ecublens campus since 2014. Credit Suisse Funds AG and the Board of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Board) have agreed to transfer ownership of the SwissTech Convention Center as part of an early ...

16.06.2022
Research

Cyanobacteria are ancient organisms. The most varied types of shells without a core, which, at high density in warm waters, can secrete complex substances and also toxins. Some are toxic to both humans and animals. Elisabeth Janssen is on the trail of these natural toxins: applied research, the results of which can be incorporated into water protection or water management.

sciena.ch

23.05.2022
Research

Quantum physics has a long tradition at ETH Zurich. Now it is further expanding its teaching and research activities. Around 150 students are completing the novel Master’s degree programme in Quantum Engineering, there is a “Quantum Center” and quantum computers are to be built in the ETHZ-PSI Quantum Computing Hub.

sciena.ch

More news & reports

News & Berichte

15.07.2022
Medienmitteilung

An seiner Sitzung vom 13. Juli bewilligte der ETH-Rat «Gemeinsame Initiativen» der Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs zu «Energie, Klima und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit» sowie zu «Engagement und Dialog mit der Gesellschaft». Damit stärkt der ETH-Rat Aktivitäten im Rahmen der «Strategischen Schwerpunkte» des ETH-Bereichs, die er in seiner Strategie 2025–2028 definiert hat. Des Weiteren wählt der ETH-Rat Dr. ...

14.07.2022
Medienmitteilung

Der ETH-Rat wählt Dr. Thomas Wohlgemuth zum neuen Mitglied der Direktion der WSL auf den 1. September 2022. Damit umfasst die WSL-Direktion sieben Mitglieder, davon drei Frauen und vier Männer. Dr. Thomas Wohlgemuth ist Leiter der Forschungsgruppe «Störungsökologie» an der WSL und zugleich stellvertretender Leiter der Forschungseinheit Walddynamik. Er ist ein ausgewiesener Forscher auf dem ...

14.07.2022
Medienmitteilung

Der ETH-Rat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 13./14. Juli 2022 auf Antrag des Präsidenten der ETH Zürich, Prof. Dr. Joël Mesot, und des Präsidenten der EPFL, Prof. Dr. Martin Vetterli, insgesamt 7 Professorinnen und 9 Professoren ernannt, einen Professorinnentitel verliehen und den Rücktritt von 4 Professorinnen und Professoren mit Verdankung zur Kenntnis genommen. In den ...

14.07.2022
Lehre

Anna Kiesenhofer ist promovierte Mathematikerin und forschte an der EPFL als Postdoc an partiellen Differenzialgleichungen, als sie sich für die Olympischen Spiele in Tokio für das Rad-Strassenrennen qualifizierte und sensationell die Goldmedaille gewann. Zwischen der Mathematik und dem Radsport sieht sie Parallelen, die für ihren Erfolg mitentscheidend waren. 

sciena.ch

5.07.2022
Publikation

Der ETH-Bereich will in der Periode 2025–2028 weiterhin international wettbewerbsfähig sein und der Schweiz dienen, indem er wichtige Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Bildung, Forschung und Innovation angeht. Um diesen drängendsten globalen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, fördert der ETH-Rat fünf Strategische Schwerpunkte, in denen der ETH-Bereich viel bewirken kann. Zudem werden verschiedene Massnahmen im Zusammenhang mit den ...

29.06.2022
Medienmitteilung

Der Bundesrat hat am 29. Juni 2022 Martin Ackermann zum neuen Direktor der Eawag gewählt. Der 51-Jährige tritt damit die Nachfolge von Janet Hering an, die das Pensionsalter erreicht. Martin Ackermann ist derzeit Professor für die Ökologie Mikrobieller Systeme an der ETH Zürich und Gruppenleiter an der Eawag. Er wird sein neues Amt am 1. ...

29.06.2022
Medienmitteilung

Das Kongresszentrums «SwissTech Convention Center» wird seit 2014 von der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Lausanne (EPFL) auf deren Campus in Ecublens genutzt und betrieben. Credit Suisse Funds AG und der ETH-Rat haben vereinbart, dass das Kongresszentrum STCC im Rahmen eines frühzeitigen Heimfalls an den Bund bzw. an die EPFL übertragen werden soll. Beide Seiten beurteilen diesen ...

16.06.2022
Forschung

Cyanobakterien sind uralte Lebewesen. Hüllen ohne Kern unterschiedlichster Arten, die bei grosser Dichte in warmen Gewässern komplexe Substanzen und auch Toxine ausscheiden können. Einige sind für Mensch und Tier giftig. Diesen natürlichen Toxinen ist Elisabeth Janssen auf der Spur: Angewandte Forschung, deren Resultate in Gewässerschutz oder -management einfliessen können.

sciena.ch

23.05.2022
Forschung

An der ETH Zürich verfügt die quantenphysikalische Wissenschaft über eine lange Tradition. Nun baut sie Lehre und Forschung weiter aus. Rund 150 Studierende absolvieren den neuartigen Masterstudiengang «Quantum Engineering», es gibt ein «Quantum Center» und im «ETHZ-PSI Quantum Computing Hub» sollen Quantencomputer gebaut werden.

sciena.ch

Mehr News & Berichte