

ETH Board appoints new Vice President for Innovation at EPFL

Upon application of EPFL President Martin Vetterli, the ETH Board appointed Ursula Oesterle as new Vice President for Innovation for the 2021–2024 period.

Bern/Zurich, 12 November 2020

Ursula Oesterle holds a Master's degree in physics and chemistry from ETH Zurich, and a PhD in physics from EPFL. Her research years on quantum photonics at EPFL led to first interactions with industry research projects, and after further education at IMD in Lausanne she decided to completely move to industry. She has held several positions, most notably she has been the Vice President for Innovation at the Swisscom Innovation outposts USA and Asia.

In her various roles, Ursula Oesterle has always helped companies harness the power of digital innovation and constructively collaborate with start-ups. She designs transformation programs and coaches leaders in the new mindset and ways of working that are required to execute on disruptive innovation.

Outgoing Vice President for Innovation

The ETH Board would like to sincerely thank the outgoing Vice President for Innovation, Prof. Marc Gruber, for his strong commitment and major contributions during the last years. Marc Gruber has been highly successful in strengthening innovation and technology transfer at EPFL, in particular by advancing the development of Innovation Park and by significantly increasing the number of industry collaborations.

In addition, Marc Gruber launched successful programs to support Bachelor's and Master's students in their entrepreneurial ambitions, and developed major offerings that help smalland medium-sized companies to collaborate with EPFL researchers.

With Ursula Oesterle as EPFL's new Vice President for Innovation, Martin Vetterli has filled all open positions on EPFL's board for his second term during the 2021–2024 period, except for the Vice Presidency for Finances. This search is still ongoing and public since November 2020.

Enquiries

Gian-Andri Casutt, Head of Communications T +41 58 856 86 06 gian.casutt@ethrat.ch

ETH Board, Häldeliweg 15, CH-8092 Zurich, www.ethboard.ch

The ETH Board is the strategic management and supervisory body of the ETH Domain. The ETH Domain is made up of the both Federal Institutes of Technology, i.e. ETH Zurich and EPFL, as well as the four federal research institutes PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag. The members of the ETH Board are appointed by the Swiss Federal Council. The ETH Board supervises the development plans of the institutions, is responsible for strategic management accounting and ensures coordination. It draws up the budget and the financial statements of the ETH Domain and coordinates the value maintenance and continued functionality of the properties. It is the authority responsible for appointments and represents the ETH Domain before the federal authorities. A staff assists the ETH Board in the preparation and implementation of its business.