Millions of people around the world have no access to sanitation that offers a “clean” solution. Therefore, Eawag is researching technical possibilities for treating wastewater and recovering resources from it. The main focus is on sustainable solutions for the southern hemisphere.

For example, faecal sludge can be dried and pressed into odourless pellets that can be burned like wood pellets. (Photos: Basil Stücheli/ETH Board)

This story can be told in two ways. First, there’s the market story. What a waste! All the valuable stuff in human excrement just poured down the sewers. Out of sight, out of mind. Money just thrown away...flushed away. But the public health story sounds very different. Housing developments need a fully functioning sewage system, otherwise hygiene emergencies are inevitable. Western countries have devel-oped centralised sewage systems over time, which work in this country but which also create costs. This approach doesn’t really work for cities in the southern hemisphere; the plants usually fail sooner or later, and the money invested goes down the drain. Decentralised systems are much better suited to collecting and treating sewage locally. But then the most important question arises: what to do with it? Not simply dumping it in the next stream, that’s for sure, but treating and burning would be the more hygienic solution, for example.

It gets really interesting when you bring the two stories together. This is the goal of research conductedby Linda Strande and Christoph Lüthi from Eawag.Both work in the Department of Sanitation and Water for Development (Sandec) and develop scenarios to establish wastewater management worthy of the name in the southern hemisphere. The focus is on people’s health, while resource recovery and “management” are the economic driving forces. Lüthi says that previous attempts to improve the waste-water situation in the southern hemisphere have largely ignored the economic aspects. This is the decisive factor when it comes to a sustainable and financially viable solution. Because the sewage system is not subsidised – there are simply no funds available for this – solutions must be sought that pay for themselves.

Linda Strande (Left) and Christoph Lüthi, both from the Department of Sanitation and Water for Development at Eawag

After years of research, the specialists from Dübendorf have indeed put together a series of economically impressive solutions: energy, nutrients for fer-tilisers and even animal feed can be obtained from waste water and faecal sludge. Almost all the nutrients come from the urine. A high-tech plant is in operation at Eawag itself, which separates the urinein the toilets and then processes it into valuable liquid fertiliser. Researchers are proud to report that Switzerland has recently even officially permitted the use of this fertiliser for food crops. However, less complex and more robust solutions for faecal sludge may prove to be much more interesting for cities in developing countries. That’s Strande’s area of specialisation. She has overseen various projects, for example in Uganda,which have demonstrated the practicability of the procedures. For example, faecal sludge can be dried and pressed into odourless pellets that can be burned like wood pellets, thus solving the problem of possible pathogens. The economic prospects are excellent, says Strande, and local industries have also shown great interest in the cheap pellets, provided they are produced in sufficient quantities.

The latest trick of the researchers is even more amazing: transforming animal or human waste into valuable protein. They use the larvae of the Black Soldier Fly (or BSF for short), which clean up pretty much all organic waste, be it salad leftovers, meat or food already digested by us. If this food mash is properly treated, hardly anything remains after the feast apart from fat larvae, which can be processed into food for farm animals or used in fish farming, for example.

"The economic prospects for pellets that can be used as fuel are excellent.” Linda Strande, Department of Sanitation and Water for Development at Eawag

The potential is huge. On the one hand, there is the growing demand for these sorts of feed materials, economic pellets or nutrient-rich fertilisers. On the other hand, there is the appalling reality for about one third of the world’s population: sanitation for around 2.7 billion people is still provided decentrally without a sewer system or regulated wastewater dis-posal. Lüthi stresses once again that only solutions based on a market analysis will be viable on a broad scale. He doesn’t want to see any more “white elephants” – he’d prefer to see lots of black soldier flies

Dans le monde, des millions de personnes n’ont pas accès à des installations sanitaires offrant une solution «propre». C’est pourquoi l’Eawag recherche des moyens techniques pour traiter les eaux usées et récupérer leurs ressources. Une attention particulière est portée aux solutions durables pour les pays du Sud.

Les boues fécales peuvent ainsi, p. ex., être déshydratées et transformées en pellets inodores qui peuvent être brûlés à l’instar de pellets de bois. (Photos: Basil Stücheli/Conseil des EPF)

On peut conter cette histoire de deux manières. D’abord, il y a l’histoire du marché: quel gâchis! Tout ce qu’il y a de précieux dans les excréments humains est rejeté simplement dans les égouts. Loin des yeux, loin du cœur. Argent jeté et emporté. L’histoire de la santé publique est bien différente: les agglomérations ont besoin d’un système d’assainissement qui fonctionne pour éviter les crises sanitaires. Les pays occidentaux ont acquis au fil du temps des ré-seaux d’égouts centralisés qui fonctionnent, mais coûtent très cher. Cette solution n’est pas vraiment adaptée aux villes du Sud, les installations tombent généralement en panne tôt ou tard et l’argent investi est perdu. Les systèmes décentralisés sont bien mieux adaptés à la collecte et au traitement des eaux usées au niveau local. La question la plus importante est donc: que faire? Ce n’est certaine-ment pas le rejet simple, mais le traitement et la combustion, p. ex., qui représenteraient la solutionla plus hygiénique

Cela devient vraiment intéressant quand les deux histoires sont réunies. C’est le but de la recherche de Linda Strande et de Christoph Lüthi de l’Eawag. Tous deux travaillent au département Assainisse-ment, Eau et Déchets pour le Développement (Sandec) et élaborent des scénarios afin d’établir une gestion des eaux usées digne de ce nom dans les pays du Sud. La santé des personnes est placée au centre, tandis que la récupération des ressources et la «gestion» jouent un rôle de moteur économique. Selon C. Lüthi, les précédentes tentatives d’amélioration de la situation des eaux usées dans les pays du Sud ont largement ignoré les aspects économiques. C’est le facteur décisif pour une solution durable et financièrement viable. Comme le système d’assainissement n’est pas subventionné – les moyens manquent simplement – il faut chercher des solutions rentables.

Linda Strande (à g.) et Christoph Lüthi du Département Assainissement, Eau et Déchets pour le Développement de l’Eawag

Après des années de recherche, les spécialistes de Dübendorf ont mis au point une série de solutions économiquement convaincantes: les eaux usées et les boues fécales permettent de récupérer de l’énergie, des nutriments pour engrais et même des aliments pour animaux. Les nutriments proviennent presque tous de l’urine. Une installation de pointe qui sépare les urines dans les toilettes et les transforme ensuite en engrais liquide est en service à l’Eawag. «Depuis peu, les autorités permettent même en Suisse d’utiliser cet engrais pour les plantes comestibles», expliquent fièrement les chercheurs. Pour les villes des pays en développe-ment, cependant, des solutions moins complexes et plus robustes pour les boues fécales peuvent s’avérer beaucoup plus intéressantes. C’est la spécialité de Linda Strande. Elle a accompagné des projets qui ont démontré la faisabilité du procédé, notamment en Ouganda. Les boues fécales peuvent ainsi, p. ex., être déshydratées et transformées en pellets inodores qui peuvent être brûlés à l’instar de pellets de bois, ce qui résout aussi le problème des éventuels agents pathogènes. «Les perspectives économiques sont remarquables», relate Linda Strande, même les industries locales sont intéressées par les pellets bon marché dans la mesure où ils peuvent être produits en quantité suffisante.

Le dernier tour des chercheurs est encore plus épatant: la transformation directe d’excréments animaux ou humains en protéines. Pour ce faire, ils utilisent les larves de la mouche soldat noire qui éliminent presque tous les déchets organiques, tels que les restes de salade, la viande ou ce que nous avons déjà digéré. Si cette bouillie est bien préparée, il ne reste presque plus rien après le festin, sauf de grosses larves qui peuvent être transformées en nourriture pour les animaux de rente ou dans la pisciculture.

«Les perspectives économiquesdes pellets que l’on peut brûler sont remarquables.» Linda Strande, département Assainissement, Eau et Déchets pour le Développement de l’Eawag

Le potentiel est énorme: il y a d’une part un besoin croissant de tels aliments, pellets bon marché ou engrais riches en substances nutritives. D’autre part, la réalité de près d’un tiers de la population mondiale est déplaisante: l’assainissement d’environ 2,7 milliards de personnes continue d’être assuré de manière décentralisée, sans égouts ni évacuation réglementée. C. Lüthi souligne une fois de plus que seules des solutions basées sur une analyse du marché ont une chance d’être mises en place à grande échelle. Il préfère voir beaucoup de mouches soldats noires qu’un autre «éléphant blanc».