19 new professors appointed at ETH Zurich and EPFL

At its meeting of 14 July 2021 and upon application of the President of ETH Zurich, Professor Joël Mesot, and the President of EPFL, Professor Martin Vetterli, the ETH Board appointed a total of seven women and twelve men as professors and awarded the title of professor to one individual. It also took note of …

Open Research Data: Measures implemented by the ETH Domain

The ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain are investing more heavily in measures aimed at continued implementation of Open Research Data. Open science practices are becoming a prevalent paradigm in academic research worldwide. Open Research Data (ORD) is at the core of open science: new technological developments are facilitating the sharing and …

Open Research Data: Measures implemented by the ETH Domain

The ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain are investing more heavily in measures aimed at continued implementation of Open Research Data. Open science practices are becoming a prevalent paradigm in academic research worldwide. Open Research Data (ORD) is at the core of open science: new technological developments are facilitating the sharing and …

Federal Council appoints Beate Jessel as new WSL director

The Federal Council appointed Beate Jessel as the new director of the Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) on 4 June 2021. She will assume her role on 1 September. The 59-year-old currently serves as president of the German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation in Bonn.  Professor Beate Jessel succeeds Professor Konrad …

Günther Dissertori to become new Rector of ETH Zurich

Personnel matters were among the issues addressed by the ETH Board at its meeting on 19/20 May. It appointed Professor Günther Dissertori as the new Rector of ETH Zurich, Professors Thomas J. Schmidt and Mike Seidel as members of the PSI Board of Directors and Cornelia Ritz Bossicard as the new Chair of the ETH …

15 new professors appointed at ETH Zurich and EPFL

At its meeting of 19-20 May 2021 and upon application of the President of ETH Zurich, Professor Joël Mesot, and the President of EPFL, Professor Martin Vetterli, the ETH Board appointed a total of five women and ten men as professors and awarded the title of professor to one individual. It also took note of …

A joint Code of Conduct for Scientific Integrity

swissuniversities, the Swiss National Science Foundation and Innosuisse have jointly drawn up a Code of Conduct for Scientific Integrity under the auspices of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences. It takes into account new developments in science, facilitates cooperation across institutional borders and strengthens quality assurance in research. Possible misconduct can occur across the …

ETH Board appoints new Vice President for Finances at EPFL

Upon application of EPFL President Martin Vetterli, the ETH Board has appointed Françoise Bommensatt as new Vice President for Finances for the 2021–2024 period. Françoise Bommensatt comes with an impressive track record in managing finance departments in the higher education sector. Currently, she is Chief Financial Officer at the Swiss Education Group, a business and …

Gender Strategy 2021–2024

Strategy for Gender Balance and Equal Opportunities for Women and Men The ETH Domain aims to improve the gender balance among its member institutions by increasing the share of women in education and in research, as well as in management positions. Ensuring equal opportunities for women and men within the ETH Domain is a prerequisite …

ETH Board adopts the new Gender Strategy

At its meeting of 3/4 March 2021, the ETH Board adopted the new Gender Strategy for the ETH Domain. This strategy aims to improve the gender balance further and ensure equal opportunities for women and men in the ETH Domain institutions. The ETH Board also decided how resources will be allocated in 2022 and approved …

19 professeures et professeurs nommé·e·s à l’ETH Zurich et à l’EPFL

Sur proposition du professeur Joël Mesot, président de l’ETH Zurich, et du professeur Martin Vetterli, président de l’EPFL, le Conseil des EPF, réuni en séance le 14 juillet 2021, a nommé sept professeures et douze professeurs, attribué un titre de professeur et adressé ses remerciements à cinq professeurs sortants. Au cours des douze derniers mois, le …

Mesures du Domaine des EPF concernant l’Open Research Data

Le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine des EPF investissent résolument dans les mesures visant à poursuivre la mise en œuvre de l’Open Research Data.   Tenant un rôle toujours plus central dans la recherche académique mondiale, la science ouverte s’appuie dans une large mesure sur le libre accès aux données de recherche …

Mesures du Domaine des EPF concernant l’Open Research Data

Le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine des EPF investissent résolument dans les mesures visant à poursuivre la mise en œuvre de l’Open Research Data. Tenant un rôle toujours plus central dans la recherche académique mondiale, la science ouverte s’appuie dans une large mesure sur le libre accès aux données de recherche (Open …

Beate Jessel nommée directrice du WSL

Le 4 juin 2021, le Conseil fédéral a nommé Beate Jessel à la tête de l’Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage (WSL). Elle prendra ses fonctions le 1er septembre prochain. Âgée de 59 ans, Mme Jessel est actuellement présidente de l’Office fédéral allemand de la protection de la nature, …

Günther Dissertori sera le nouveau recteur de l’ETH Zurich

Lors de sa séance des 19 et 20 mai 2021, le Conseil des EPF a notamment traité plusieurs affaires concernant le personnel. Ainsi, il a désigné le professeur Günther Dissertori en tant que nouveau recteur de l’ETH Zurich, les professeurs Thomas J. Schmidt et Mike Seidel en tant que membres de la direction du PSI, …

15 professeures et professeurs nommés à l’ETH Zurich et à l’EPFL

Sur proposition du professeur Joël Mesot, président de l’ETH Zurich, et du professeur Martin Vetterli, président de l’EPFL, le Conseil des EPF, réuni en séance les 19 et 20 mai 2021, a nommé cinq professeures et dix professeurs, attribué un titre de professeur et adressé ses remerciements à sept professeurs sortants. Au cours des douze derniers mois, le Conseil …

Gian-Luca Bona reconduit dans ses fonctions de directeur de l’Empa

Le 12 mai 2021, le Conseil fédéral a confirmé Gian-Luca Bona dans ses fonctions à la tête du Laboratoire fédéral d’essai des matériaux et de recherche (Empa). Le directeur de l’Empa accomplira un quatrième mandat, du 1er septembre 2021 au 31 mai 2022. Le Conseil fédéral a décidé de reconduire le professeur Gian-Luca Bona dans …

Un code commun pour l’intégrité scientifique

swissuniversities, le Fonds national suisse et Innosuisse ont élaboré ensemble un code d’intégrité scientifique sous l’égide des Académies suisses des sciences. Ce code tient compte des derniers développements au niveau scientifique, facilite la collaboration au-delà des frontières institutionnelles et renforce le contrôle de qualité dans le domaine de la recherche. Les comportements incorrects potentiels s’étendent …

Le Conseil fédéral fixe les objectifs stratégiques 2021-2024 pour le Domaine des EPF

Le 21 avril 2021, le Conseil fédéral a défini les objectifs stratégiques pour le Domaine des EPF durant les années 2021 à 2024. Le maintien d’un niveau d’excellence en comparaison internationale dans la recherche et l’enseignement jouit de la plus haute priorité. Les objectifs stratégiques concordent, par leur calendrier et leur teneur, avec l’enveloppe budgétaire …

Le Conseil des EPF nomme une nouvelle vice-présidente pour les finances à l’EPFL

Sur proposition du président de l’EPFL Martin Vetterli, le Conseil des EPF a nommé Françoise Bommensatt vice-présidente pour les finances pendant la période 2021–2024. Françoise Bommensatt dispose d’une expérience impressionnante à la tête de différents services financiers d’établissements d’enseignement supérieur. Elle est actuellement Chief Financial Officer au sein du Swiss Education Group, une institution de …