Excellent research for the challenges of our age

With its high standard of teaching and research, the ETH Domain also has a great responsibility in addressing current challenges. It is focusing on issues such as climate change, the sustainable use of resources or the digital transformation. A reliable education policy framework, as well as effective structures, are crucial factors in meeting this responsibility.

“Exceptional quality”, “unique positioning”, “important innovation hub” – the international group of experts of the 2019 intermediate evaluation emphasised the great performance and central importance of the ETH Domain both within the Swiss university landscape and in comparison with teaching and research institutions worldwide. The intermediate evaluation of the ETH Domain, which was commissioned by the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) and carried out in the middle of the current ERI period, is testament to the excellent work being done at the six institutions. The two Federal Institutes of Technology are among the top universities in the world. This is also evidenced by the various international rankings in which the two universities were very well placed in 2019 once again (see Fig. 16 and 17,
p. 93).

Spotlight on research: Sustainable development
and digitalisation

With their excellent research and teaching, the institutions of the ETH Domain can play an important part in addressing current and future challenges facing our country. During the meetings for the development of the ERI Dispatch 2021–2024, some of these challenges were identified as central “approaches” for all ERI funding areas. For example, they include sustainable development and digital transformation. Both areas are also priority areas of research in the ETH Domain.

In the broad subject area of sustainable development, the institutions have a particular focus on energy research. The “Coordinated Energy Research Switzerland” action plan as a package of measures for the Federal Government's 2050 Energy Strategy has an important role to play here. Furthermore, energy research is one of the four strategic focus areas defined by the ETH Board in the current ERI period. Challenging tasks such as the sustainable restructuring of Swiss energy production, lowering CO2 emissions or increasing the efficiency of the energy system are being addressed in a large number of research projects. The energy research platform ReMaP (Renewable Management and Real-Time Control Platform) was launched in 2019. This platform is dedicated to interconnected issues, such as changing electricity consumption in the case of local energy storage. Existing research and technology transfer platforms in the ETH Domain are being connected, opening up links between the distribution network, energy management, buildings and mobility. The institutions of the ETH Domain have also been involved in the development of SWEET (Swiss Energy Research for Energy Transition), the successor programme by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) to the “Coordinated Energy Research Switzerland” action plan.

As far as digital transformation is concerned, the institutions of the ETH Domain are conducting intensive research into the technological foundations and applying them in a wide range of areas. All three strategic focus areas of the ETH Domain “Personalized Health”, “Data Sciences” and “Advanced Manufacturing” contain central aspects of the digitalisation process. The two Federal Institutes of Technology have been enhancing their capacities for some time now, particularly in the areas of computer sciences and information and communication technology. This includes the seven additional professorships which ETH Zurich and EPFL are setting up as part of the Federal Government's “Digitalisation” action plan. Five of those places were filled in 2019. One of the priorities is the security challenge in the digital environment. The two Federal Institutes of Technology successfully launched the joint Master's programme Cyber Security in 2019. In addition, parts of the Cyber-Defence Campus of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS) were opened at EPFL and ETH Zurich in the autumn. The purpose of the campus is to provide early warning of rapid developments in cyber security and to work on new technologies for hazard prevention.

In dialogue with policy-makers and society

In the face of current developments and challenges, responsible scientific research involves acting as an advisor to policy-makers in order to facilitate decision-making based on facts. Trust in science and its processes is of the utmost importance, especially in the current context of fake news and highly personalised and polarising debates. The need for science to be “given a face” and for experts from the ETH Domain to have advisory input in the political negotiation process is stressed in the final report of the intermediate evaluation.

The social responsibility of the scientific community is particularly evident in the area of digital transformation. The continuously expanded range of continuing education courses offered by the institutions of the ETH Domain, adapted to reflect the current needs of the various professions, is designed to help get society ready for the digital age. The education of the younger generation is of particular importance. For example, the two Federal Institutes of Technology support the development of ICT teaching in schools with initial and further training courses for teachers and the development of curricula.

Reliable framework conditions,
effective structures

Various factors are of pivotal importance in order to continue to provide excellent research and teaching for current challenges in the future. The experts who contributed to the intermediate evaluation have touched upon several important framework conditions in their recommendations. One of them is stable, reliable funding by the Federal Government. The autonomy of the ETH Domain and its six institutions in the use of financial resources is also key in this context. This also applies to the free, strategic reserves that give the institutions room for manoeuvre in favour of new scientific fields and initiatives. The new guidelines for the reserve policy in the ETH Domain passed by the ETH Board set out reference values and principles for management, among other things. The expert panel also emphasised the international openness of the ETH Domain as another important framework condition. Access to cross-border research development programmes such as “Horizon Europe” is central to the attractiveness and international network of Switzerland as a centre of research.

In addition to the external framework conditions, the intermediate evaluation also looked at how the structure of the ETH Domain has evolved historically. The experts recommended continuing the review of this structure that had been initiated by the ETH Board in order to increase the agility and flexibility of the ETH Domain and to gear its development towards future needs. In September, the ETH Board took the key strategic decision to merge WSL and Eawag in the medium term into a research institute for the environment and sustainability with international stature. At the end of 2019, the consultation of the institutions of the ETH Domain on this project got under way. This is intended to enable research in the ETH Domain to make an even more purposeful contribution towards solutions for a sustainable future for our society and to further boost Switzerland's position as a centre of research in the environment and sustainability.

L'excellence dans la recherche
au service de notre époque

Avec son enseignement et sa recherche de haut niveau, le Domaine des EPF a un rôle majeur à jouer face aux défis du présent. Le changement climatique, l’utilisation durable des ressources ou la transformation numérique sont des thèmes au coeur de son engagement. Pour qu’il puisse assumer cette responsabilité, le Domaine des EPF a besoin de conditions-cadres fiables en matière de politique de formation et de structures efficaces.

«Qualité exceptionnelle», «positionnement unique», «plaque tournante d’innovation majeure» — le groupe d’experts de composition internationale qui a procédé à l’évaluation intermédiaire de 2019 a souligné la belle performance et l’importance centrale du Domaine des EPF, aussi bien au sein du paysage suisse des hautes écoles que par rapport à d’autres institutions de formation et de recherche à travers le monde. L’évaluation intermédiaire du Domaine des EPF, effectuée à mi-période FRI sur ordre du Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR), confirme l’excellent travail accompli par les six institutions. Les deux EPF font partie des meilleures hautes écoles universitaires du monde. En témoignent les différents classements internationaux dans lesquels les deux écoles sont à nouveau très bien placées en 2019 (cf. fig. 16 et 17, p. 93).

L’accent sur la recherche:
développement durable et numérisation

Les institutions du Domaine des EPF, qui excellent dans la recherche et l’enseignement, apportent une contribution importante dans la gestion des défis présents et futurs que notre pays doit relever. Lors des sommet pour la préparation du message FRI 2021—2024, certains de ces défis ont été identifiés comme des «axes» centraux pour tous les domaines d’encouragement FRI, par exemple le développement durable ou la transformation numérique. Ces deux domaines sont également des priorités de l’activité de recherche du Domaine des EPF.

Au sein de la vaste thématique du développement durable, les institutions ont mis un accent particulier sur la recherche énergétique. Le plan d’action «Recherche énergétique suisse coordonnée» y joue un rôle important en tant que train de mesures de la stratégie énergétique 2050 de la Confédération. La recherche énergétique est en outre l’un des quatre grands axes stratégiques définis par le Conseil des EPF pour la période FRI actuelle. De nombreux projets de recherche portent sur des tâches pointues telles que la transformation durable de la production énergétique suisse, la réduction des émissions de CO2 ou l’amélioration de l’efficience du système énergétique. La plateforme sur la recherche énergétique ReMaP (Renewable Management and Real-Time Control Platform) est entrée en service en 2019. Celleci se consacre aux problématiques interdisciplinaires, par exemple l’évolution de la consommation d’électricité en cas de stockage local de l’énergie. Des plateformes de recherche et de transfert de technologie étant déjà interconnectées au sein du Domaine des EPF, des liens se créent entre réseau de distribution, gestion de l’énergie, bâtiments et mobilité. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF ont également participé à l’élaboration du SWEET (Swiss Energy Research for Energy Transition), le programme de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) qui succède au plan d’action «Recherche énergétique suisse coordonnée».

En ce qui concerne la transformation numérique, les institutions du Domaine des EPF travaillent sur les bases technologiques et les appliquent aux différents domaines. Les trois grands axes stratégiques du Domaine des EPF Santé personnalisée, Science des données et Advanced Manufacturing intègrent des aspects centraux de la numérisation. Depuis longtemps, les deux EPF renforcent leurs capacités, notamment dans le domaine des sciences informatiques et des technologies d’information et de communication. Les sept chaires supplémentaires mises en place par l’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL dans le cadre du plan d’action «Numérisation» de la Confédération s’inscrivent dans cette logique. Cinq ont déjà été pourvues en 2019. Le défi de la sécurité dans l’environnement numérique est l’une des priorités. Les deux EPF ont lancé avec succès leur programme de master commun en Cybersécurité en 2019. A l’automne, deux pôles du campus cyberdéfense du Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports (DDPS) ont été inaugurés à l’EPFL et à l’ETH Zurich. Le campus a pour mission d’identifier au plus tôt les évolutions rapides qui animent le cyberespace et de travailler sur de nouvelles technologies de défense.

Dialogue avec la société
et les responsables politiques

Au vu des défis et des évolutions actuelles, il appartient à la communauté scientifique d’endosser le rôle de conseil vis-à-vis des responsables politiques afin de permettre des décisions basées sur les faits. Dans le contexte actuel de fake news et de débats très personnels et conflictuels, la confiance dans la science et ses processus est de prime importance. Le rapport final de l’évaluation intermédiaire souligne la nécessité de «donner un visage» à la science et l’importance, pour les experts du Domaine des EPF, de prendre part au processus de négociation politique avec une voix consultative.

La responsabilité sociale des sciences est évidente dans le domaine de la transformation numérique. L’offre de formation continue des institutions du Domaine des EPF, sans cesse enrichie et adaptée aux besoins des différents métiers, veut aider à préparer au mieux la société à l’âge numérique. La formation de la jeune génération est particulièrement importante. Les deux EPF soutiennent par exemple le renforcement des cours d’informatique dans les écoles en proposant l’élaboration de plans d’études ou des cours de formation initiale et continue destinés au personnel enseignant.

Des conditions-cadres fiables,
des structures efficaces

Plusieurs facteurs sont essentiels au maintien de notre excellence en recherche et formation pour gérer les défis de notre temps. Dans leurs recommandations, les experts de l’évaluation intermédiaire citent plusieurs conditions-cadres essentielles. Le financement stable et fiable de la Confédération en fait partie. Dans ce contexte, l’autonomie du Domaine des EPF et de ses six institutions quant à l’utilisation des moyens financiers est également décisive. Ceci concerne aussi les réserves libres stratégiques qui donnent aux institutions une marge de manoeuvre visà- vis de nouveaux secteurs et initiatives scientifiques. Les nouvelles directives adoptées par le Conseil des EPF sur la politique des réserves au sein du Domaine des EPF fixent notamment des ordres de grandeur et des principes de gestion. Parmi les autres conditions-cadres importantes, le comité d’experts souligne l’importance de l’ouverture internationale du Domaine des EPF. L’accès aux programmes internationaux d’encouragement de la recherche comme Horizon Europe est essentiel pour l’attractivité et le réseau international de la Suisse comme site de recherche.

L’évaluation intermédiaire s’est intéressée aux conditions- cadres extérieures, mais aussi à la structure qui s’est mise en place au fil des ans au sein du Domaine des EPF. Les experts ont conseillé de poursuivre la remise en question de cette structure, afin d’accroître l’agilité et la flexibilité du Domaine des EPF et d’orienter son évolution vers les besoins futurs. Au mois de septembre, le Conseil des EPF a pris la décision stratégique de regrouper à moyen terme le WSL et l’Eawag en un seul institut de recherche sur l’environnement et la durabilité au rayonnement international. La consultation des institutions du Domaine des EPF sur ce projet a commencé fin 2019. Le nouvel établissement contribuera à cibler davantage la recherche au sein du Domaine des EPF vers des solutions prometteuses d’un avenir durable de notre société et à consolider le site de recherche suisse dans les domaines de l’environnement et de la durabilité.