Various materials are being researched at Empa, some of them with surprising properties. For example, there are elastomers that react to current and that contract or expand depending on the voltage applied. Two decades ago, a few researchers wondered what you could do with something like this. The result is almost ready to be marketed now – and could revolutionise electronic control elements.

The actuators developed by Gabor Kovacs (left) have the potential to make the leap from a research laboratory to a large-scale industrial application. Dorina Opris tailored the polymer films to meet specific needs. (Photo: Basil Stücheli/ETH Board)

Does something have to be set in motion? Nature relies on muscles, technology on motors; nature deforms, technology turns and screws. That could all be about to change, because researchers from Empa are in the process of bringing low-cost, mass-produced actuators to market maturity. They are based on technology that is basically simple, but rather secretive. Dielectric elastomers belong to the group of electroactive polymers and are materials that deform when electrical voltage is applied. Why they do this is still being researched at molecular level. In the last 20 years, scientists have learned how to “rein in” these materials in such a way that the deformation is very precise and can be finely manipulated. “It’s not that easy to create a linear movement,” says Pierangelo Gröning, member of the directorate and Head of the “Modern Materials and Surfaces” department. However, Empa has steadily progressed towards this goal over the years and been able to do so at comparatively deep or low voltages thanks to its know-how. Thus, the actuators developed by Gabor Kovacs have the potential to make the leap from a research laboratory to a large-scale industrial application.

The test actuators are like a soft stack of plastic in your hand, consisting of many thin plates. It might look unspectacular, but a lot of research work has gone into the ten-centimetre high stack. Kovacs recalls that a research programme was launched at Empa in 2000 with the aim of deforming mechanical structures with electrical signals. However, the mate-rials known at that time could hardly be used for specific applications. They did too little and were too expensive. However, believing firmly in the technology’s potential, they decided to move forward and set up the Functional Polymers department to develop these materials themselves. This makes actuators a “classic Empa case,” says Gröning, since they have their origins in materials research. What sets Empa apart is that the idea will then be refined “in this way in two different laboratories”. The engineering challenge was compounded by the optimisation of the material.

“Electroactive polymers have the potential to revolutionise electronic controls.” Pierangelo Gröning, member of the directorate and Head of the “Modern Materials and Surfaces” department

Dorina Opris is involved in the development of more suitable polymer films tailored to specific needs. The breakthrough was achieved thanks to her expertise. She modifies the elastomers that make up the films with dipoles, which makes them more “sensitive”. After modification, they become deformed at much lower voltages. She has also made the films “fit” for the special manufacturing process, in which they are applied to one another like in a 3D printer. This wet stack process also makes the Empa technology unique – automation has already been incorporated.

There are two manufacturing robots in the Kovacs research laboratory. One of the machines prints the finest film layers including stretchable electrodes, one on top of the other, so that a plastic plate about 0.5 millimetres thick slowly grows. This is then cut into small pieces in the other machine and stacked. As soon as electrical voltage is applied, each individual film is deformed marginally, and its thickness changes as well. The result would hardly be noticeable with a single layer, but there are more than 1000 foil layers in a stack. The effect is multiplied accordingly, and the actuators achieve movements from millimetres to centimetres that are even visible to the naked eye. The movement is completely silent, and the actuators compact and light. And reliable. The “artificial muscles” perform their movements thou-sands and millions of times without complaint. The principle can also be reversed: if the foils change thickness under pressure, this appears as an electrical signal.

One of the machines prints the finest film layers including stretchable electrodes, one on top of the other, so that a plastic plate about 0.5 millimetres thick slowly grows. This is then cut into small pieces in the other machine and stacked.

On the one hand, Kovacs envisages that they can be used in the human body as “auxiliary muscles”. However, he also sees great potential in the con-sumer goods industry. Human-machine interaction could be completely transformed by actuators. Imagine a flat user interface that reacts by tactile rather than visual means. Buttons are created as required, and a relief is constantly changing. This is of interest to the car industry, for example. “Morphing cockpits will be standard in cars in ten years,” predicts Kovacs. CTsystems, a business which grew out of his tenacious research work, will put this into practice and bring it onto the market.

An der Empa werden ganz verschiedene Materialien erforscht, manche davon mit überraschenden Eigenschaften. So gibt es Elastomere, die auf Strom reagieren und sich je nach angelegter Spannung zusammenziehen oder ausdehnen. «Was könnte man mit so etwas anfangen?», fragten sich ein paar Forschende vor zwei Jahrzehnten. Heute ist das Resultat fast marktreif – und könnte elektronische Bedienelemente revolutionieren.

Die von Gabor Kovacs (li.) entwickelten Aktuatoren könnten den Sprung in die grossindustrielle Anwendung schaffen. Dorina Opris hat die Polymerfolien auf spezifische Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten. (Fotos: Basil Stüechli/ETH-Rat)

Etwas muss in Bewegung versetzt werden? Die Natur setzt auf Muskeln, die Technik auf Motoren, die Natur verformt, die Technik dreht und schraubt. Das könnte sich bald ändern, denn Forschende der Empa sind dabei, günstige und in Massen verfügbare so-genannte Aktuatoren zur Marktreife zu bringen. Diese basieren auf einer im Grunde simplen, aber ziemlich geheimnisvollen Technologie: Die elektrischen Elastomere gehören zur Gruppe der elektroaktiven Polymere und sind Materialien, die sich bei Anlegung von elektrischer Spannung verformen. Warum sie das machen, ist auf der molekularen Ebene immer noch Forschungsgegenstand. In den letzten 20 Jahren hat man immerhin gelernt, diese Materialien so zu «zügeln», dass die Verformung sehr gezielt und fein manipulierbar vonstattengeht. «Es ist gar nicht so einfach, eine lineare Bewegung zu erzeugen», sagt Pierangelo Gröning, Direktionsmitglied und Leiter des Departements «Moderne Materialien und Oberflächen». Aber über die Jahre hat man sich dem Ziel kontinuierlich angenähert und dank Empa-Know-how erst noch bei vergleichsweise tiefen Spannungen. So könnten die von Gabor Kovacs entwickelten Aktuatoren den Sprung vom Forschungslabor in die grossindustrielle Anwendung schaffen.

In der Hand wirken die Testaktuatoren wie ein weicher Stapel Kunststoff, bestehend aus vielen dünnen Plättchen. Es sieht unspektakulär aus, doch in dem gut zehn Zentimeter hohen Stapel steckt viel Forschungsarbeit. 2000 startete an der Empa ein Forschungsprogramm mit dem Ziel, mechanische Strukturen durch elektrische Signale zu verformen, erinnert sich Kovacs. Die damals bekannten Materialien waren allerdings kaum für konkrete Anwendungen zu gebrauchen. Sie leisteten zu wenig und waren zu teuer. Weil man aber fest an das Potenzial der Technologie glaubte, entschloss man sich zur Flucht nach vorn und gründete die Abteilung Funktionale Polymere, um diese Materialien selber zu entwickeln. Das mache Aktuatoren zu einem «klassischen Empa-Fall», sagt Gröning, da sie ihren Ursprung in der Materialforschung hätten. Dass dann «in dieser Konsequenz in zwei verschiedenen Labors» an der Idee weitergearbeitet werde, mache die Empa aus. Zur Ingenieursherausforderung kam die Optimierung des Materials.

«Elektroaktive Polymere könnten elektronische Bedienelemente revolutionieren.» Pierangelo Gröning, Direktionsmitglied und Leiter des Departements «Moderne Materialien und Oberflächen»

Bei der Entwicklung von geeigneteren und auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenen Polymerfolien kommt Dorina Opris ins Spiel. Dank ihrem Know-how schaffte man den Durchbruch. Sie modifiziert die Elastomere, aus denen die Folien bestehen, mit Dipolen, was sie «sensibler» macht. Nach der Modifizierung verformen sie sich bereits bei viel tieferen Spannungen. Zudem hat sie die Folien für das spezielle Fabrikationsverfahren «fit» gemacht, bei dem sie wie in einem 3D-Drucker aufeinander aufgetragen werden. Auch dieses sogenannte «Nassstapelverfahren» macht die Empa-Technologie einzigartig – die Automatisierung ist dabei schon mitgedacht

Im Forschungslabor von Kovacs stehen zwei Fabrikationsroboter. Eine Maschine druckt feinste Folienschichten inklusive dehnbarer Elektroden, eine auf die andere, sodass langsam ein etwa 0,5 Millimeter dickes Kunststoffplättchen wächst. Dieses wird dann in der anderen Maschine kleingeschnitten und zu sogenannten Stacks gestapelt. Sobald elektrische Spannung angelegt wird, verformt sich jede einzelne Folie um ein Geringes und ändert damit auch ihre Dicke. Bei einer einzelnen Schicht würde man vom Resultat kaum etwas merken, aber in so einem Stack stecken mehr als 1000 Folienschichten. Damit multipliziert sich auch der Effekt und die Aktuatoren erreichen Bewegungen von Millimetern bis Zentimetern, die sogar mit dem blossen Auge zu sehen sind. Die Bewegung ist komplett geräuschlos, die Aktuatoren sind kompakt und leicht. Und zuverlässig. Die «künstlichen Muskeln» führen ihre Bewegung Tausende und Millionen Male aus, ohne zu klagen. Zudem lässt sich das Prinzip auch umkehren: Ändern die Folien auf Druck ihre Dicke, zeigt sich das als elektrisches Signal.

Eine Maschine druckt feinste Folienschichten inklusive dehnbarer Elektroden, eine auf die andere, sodass langsam ein etwa 0,5 Millimeter dickes Kunststoffplättchen wächst. Dieses wird dann in der anderen Maschine kleingeschnitten und zu sogenannten Stacks gestapelt.

Anwendungen sieht Kovacs einerseits im menschlichen Körper als «Hilfsmuskeln». Aber grosses Potenzial sieht er auch in der Konsumgüterindustrie. Die Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion könnte durch Aktuatoren komplett umgekrempelt werden. Man stelle sich vor, eine flache Bedienoberfläche reagiert nicht visuell, sondern taktil. Knöpfe entstehen je nach Bedarf, ein Relief verändert sich ständig. Das interessiert zum Beispiel die Autoindustrie. «In zehn Jahren werden Morphing Cockpits serienmässig in Autos eingebaut sein», prophezeit Kovacs. Die Firma CTsystems, die aus seiner beharrlichen Forschungsarbeit entstanden ist, wird dies umsetzen und auf den Markt bringen.