Why is a natural scientist interested in glaciers? Because it is teeming with life up there. And the absence of research into this life is astonishing. It can perhaps tell us a great deal about times when the whole earth was iced and glaciated. A team from EPFL is planning a major expedition to around 200 glaciers around the world to bridge this research gap.

An EPFL research team is preparing a major expedition to around 200 glaciers around the world. (Photos: Basil Stücheli/ETH Board)

It's cold up here at 2,300 meters, but fortunately the sun is shining. The first snow of this year is already lying on the Corbassière glacier in mid-November. While the team is setting up at the stream just below the glacier snout, unpacking the experiment kit they have brought with them from their cases, Tom Battin and Hannes Peter are beside themselves with excitement; they take stones from the stream and pass them around. What can there possibly be to see at these inhospitable, very wintry altitudes? A great dea las it happens, and you don't have to be an expert to soon realise that. Some of the stones are covered with a greenish coating of slime, and in some places in the stream it grows like Gandalf's beard. And what is the temperature of the water? 0.01 degrees. Is there any other life around? There's not much to see: a few lichens on the stones, a few hardy plants in sheltered spots on the slopes. The stream may hardlyflush many nutrients out of the glacier bed, but it's enough for these microorganisms. Hannes Peter specialises in river ecosystems, and he knows that this is the best time for biofilms. Not too much current, but there is plenty of light. The conditions couldn't be any better.

What are biofilms? This has nothing to do with wildlife documentaries, they are communities of micro-organisms. Most people are aware of them from medicine, where biofilms are often problematic because they prove to be very resistant. It is estimated that some 80 percent of chronic infections are caused by biofilms. They are also resistant up here, on the glacier, where they have found a perfect niche. “Biofilms have been around for three and a half billion years and are a very original and successful form of life on Earth,” explains Tom Battin, professor at EPFL and head of the Stream Biofilm and Ecosystem Research Laboratory.

“This research is of global importance and fits in perfectly with the new Centre for Alpine and Polar Environmental Change at EPFL Valais.” Martin Vetterli, President of EPFL

Perhaps they were the beginning of life as we know it: more complex life forms with organs that share tasks. Microorganisms became “sedentary” at some point. They began to form a slimy substrate, into which other species subsequently also settled. Higher life must have started as a microbial commune. The communities soon became megacities, with thousands of taxa, which survived, for example, in metabolic processes and in defence against enemies. Battin calls it “sociomicrobiology”.

The biofilms up here are the basis of stream ecosystems and, to a certain extent, the start of the food chain. “The microorganisms orchestrate essential biochemical processes in streams and rivers, and they are the least researched.” Especially up here where the water emerges. “We know more nowadays about microbial life in the depths of the ocean than we do about the water in the streams that drain the roof of our planet,” says Battin.

“We owe it to future generations to gain a better understanding of microbial life in these disappearing ecosystems.”

He wants to change that. This is why he has recruited Michael Styllas, who normally leads expeditions into the high mountains and who is now using a shovel to fetch sediment from the stream. In the next few years, a team led by Styllas will travel the globe, investigating around 200 glacial streams in various geographical environments.

Battin believes that there are remains of ancient ecosystems up here in the snow and ice. It is possible that they have hardly changed. Battin and Peter are hoping to find a core microbiome, the lowest common denominator of biofilm life. “We want to know what genetic repertoire these communities need. That way, we can understand how they manage to survive under these conditions.” And that is all the more important as these conditions are changing rapidly at the moment. How are stable communities formed in an environment that is extremely unstable, especially now? To understand this, we need to take a look into the past, and at the same time, one into the future. How are these biofilms adapting to climate change?

On the Corbassière glacier, it’s a matter of learning what to do and testing the materials. Who to position where along the stream and how to coordinate the experiments? Everything runs according to a precise plan and has to function reliably, whether the sun is shining, or whether it is cloudy and windy. Some experiments are carried out in situ at the stream, while more complex analyses follow later in the laboratory. The precise sequencing takes place there, because the researchers are particularly interested in the metagenomics and metatranscriptomics of the microbes in the biofilms.

Warum interessiert sich ein Naturwissenschaftler für Gletscher? Weil es da oben erstaunlich viel Leben gibt. Und dieses Leben erstaunlich schlecht erforscht ist. Dabei kann es womöglich viel erzählen über Zeiten, als die ganze Erde vereist und vergletschert war. Ein Team der EPFL bereitet eine grosse Expedition zu rund 200 Gletschern auf der ganzen Welt vor, um diese Forschungslücke zu schliessen.

Ein Forschungsteam der EPFL bereitet eine grosse Expedition zu rund 200 Gletschern auf der ganzen Welt vor. (Bilder: Basil Stücheli/ETH-Rat)

Es ist kalt hier oben auf gut 2300 Metern, zum Glück scheint die Sonne. Mitte November am Corbassière-Gletscher, es liegt bereits erster Schnee von diesem Jahr. Während sich das Team am Bach gleich unterhalb des Gletschertors einrichtet und die mitgebrachten Experimente aus den Koffern auspackt, sind Tom Battin und Hannes Peter ganz aus dem Häuschen, sie nehmen Steine aus dem Bach und zeigen sie herum. Was soll es da zu sehen geben, in diesem unwirtlichen, schon sehr winterlichen Hochgebirge? Sehr viel, das merkt auch der Laie rasch: Einige der Steine sind von einer grünlichen Schleimschicht überzogen, an manchen Stellen im Bach wuchert es wie Gandalfs Bart. Die Wassertemperatur? 0,01 Grad. Sonstiges Leben rundherum? Nicht viel auszumachen: einige Flechten auf den Steinen, an geschützten Stellen an den Hängen ein paar zähe Pflanzen. Viele Nährstoffe wird der Bach kaum aus dem Gletscherbett spülen. Aber für diese Mikroorganismen reicht es allemal. Hannes Peter ist Experte für Ökosysteme in Fliessgewässern, und er weiss: Es ist die beste Zeit für Biofilme. Nicht zu viel Strömung, dafür viel Licht, besser könnten die Bedingungen nicht sein.

Biofilme? Das hat nichts mit Tierfilmen zu tun, es handelt sich dabei um Lebensgemeinschaften von Mikroorganismen. Am ehesten kennt man das aus der Medizin, wo Biofilme oft problematisch sind, weil sie sich als sehr resistent erweisen. Schätzungen zufolge, gehen gegen 80 Prozent der chronischen Infektionen auf Biofilme zurück. Resistent zeigen sie sich auch hier oben, am Gletscher, wo sie eine perfekte Nische gefunden haben. «Biofilme gibt es seit 3,5 Milliarden Jahren, sie stellen eine sehr ursprüngliche und auch erfolgreiche Form des Lebens auf der Erde dar», erklärt Tom Battin, Professor an der EPFL und Leiter des «Stream Biofilm and Ecosystem Research Laboratory»

«Diese Forschung hat globale Bedeutung und passt hervorragend zum neuen Zentrum für den Wandel der alpinen und polaren Umwelt an der EPFL Wallis.» Martin Vetterli, Präsident EPFL

Vielleicht war es überhaupt der Beginn des Lebens, so wie wir es kennen: komplexere Lebensformen mit Organen, die eine Aufgabenteilung kennen. Mikroorganismen wurden irgendwann «sesshaft». Sie begannen, ein schleimiges Substrat zu bilden, in das sich in der Folge auch andere Arten einnisteten: Höheres Leben begann wohl als Mikroben-WG. Bald wurden aus den Gemeinschaften Megacities, mit tausenden von Taxa, die zum Beispiel im Stoffwechsel und in der Abwehr von Feinden ein Auskommen fanden. Battin nennt es eine «Soziomikrobiologie».

Die Biofilme hier oben sind die Basis von Bachökosystemen und gewissermassen der Anfang der Nahrungskette. «Es sind die Mikroorganismen, die wesentliche biochemische Prozesse in Bächen und Flüssen orchestrieren, und sie sind am wenigsten erforscht.» Vor allem hier oben, wo das Wasser herkommt. «Wir wissen inzwischen mehr über mikrobielles Leben in den Meerestiefen als über jenes in den Bächen, die das Dach unserer Erde drainieren», sagt Battin.

«Wir sind es zukünftigen Generationen schuldig, das mikrobielle Leben in diesen verschwindenden Ökosystemen besser zu verstehen.»

Das will er ändern. Deshalb hat er Michael Styllas engagiert, der normalerweise Expeditionen ins Hochgebirge führt und nun mit einer Schaufel Sedimente aus dem Bach holt. In den nächsten Jahren wird ein Team um Styllas die ganze Welt bereisen und gegen 200 Gletscherbäche in diversen geografischen Umgebungen untersuchen.

Battin glaubt, dass man hier oben in Schnee und Eis Überreste von uralten Ökosystemen findet. Womöglich haben sich diese kaum verändert. Battin und Peter hoffen, ein Core-Mikrobiom zu finden, der kleinste gemeinsame Nenner des Biofilm-Lebens. «Wir möchten wissen, welches genetische Repertoire diese Lebensgemeinschaften brauchen. So können wir verstehen, wie sie unter diesen Bedingungen überleben können.» Und das ist umso wichtiger, als sich diese Bedingungen im Moment rasant verändern. Wie kommt es zu stabilen Lebensgemeinschaften in einer Umwelt, die höchst instabil ist, gerade jetzt? Es wird ein Blick in die Vergangenheit sein, und gleichzeitig einer in die Zukunft: Wie passen sich diese Biofilme an den Klimawandel an?

Auf dem Corbassière-Gletscher geht es darum, die Handgriffe zu trainieren und das Material zu testen. Wer installiert sich wo am Bach, wie koordiniert man die Experimente? Alles läuft nach einem genauen Protokoll ab und muss zuverlässig funktionieren, ob nun die Sonne scheint oder ob es trüb und windig ist. Manche Experimente werden gleich am Bach gemacht, komplexere Analysen folgen später im Labor. Vor allem das exakte Sequenzieren erfolgt dort, denn die Forscher interessieren sich für die Metagenomik und Metatranskriptomik der Mikroben in den Biofilmen.