In its programme “Urban Laboratory – Addis Ababa,” the Faculty of Architecture at ETH Zurich (D-ARCH) is devising practical ways of developing the rapidly growing Ethiopian capital. The findings can also be carried over to other metropolises.

The “Urban Laboratory – Addis Ababa” is a research initiative conducted over many years by D-ARCH and other partners, for the purpose of encouraging the dialogue between North and South. The objective is to demonstrate ways in which the city, and with it the entire nation, can cope with the anticipated rapid population growth ecologically, socially and economically. The researchers expect the Ethiopian population to increase from the current 78m to around 120m in the next 15 years. As the population of rural areas is simultaneously decreasing, this growth is concentrated in the capital city and its surrounding region, which are already bursting at the seams today.

In practice, there is no ideal solution

The research initiative focuses on the topics of population, water, space, buildings/material, capital, information and energy. Here, the main emphasis is not on the static current situation, but on the city as a dynamic system and its development from the 19th century into the uncertain zones of the coming decades. One of the researchers’ premises is that there is no ideal solution for Addis Ababa. The city is too heterogeneous, too confusing and too dynamic. Against this backdrop, the Urban Laboratory uses design methods to demonstrate development scenarios and to study how the enormous ecological, social, cultural, resource-related and technical obstacles can be overcome.

Bringing in know-how locally

One direct result of the D-ARCH initiative is the new “Ethiopian Institute of Architecture, Building Construction and City Development,” which started operating in mid-October 2009 at Addis Ababa University. During the start phase, a specialist from D-ARCH is responsible for managing the institute.

Beyond Addis Ababa and Ethiopia, the research initiative demonstrates generally applicable approaches which open up new prospects for the urban territories of the 21st century that are experiencing ever-increasing growth. Here, the main focus is on sustainability and thus on the quality of life for the population of these centres.

Das Departement Architektur der ETH Zürich entwickelt in seinem Programm „Urban Laboratory – Addis Ababa“ praxistaugliche Entwicklungswege für die rasant wachsende äthiopische Hauptstadt. Die Erkenntnisse sind auch auf andere Metropolen übertragbar.

Urban Laboratory – Addis Ababa. Illustration: ETH Zürich

Das „Urban Laboratory – Addis Ababa“ ist eine mehrjährige Forschungsinitiative des Departements Architektur der ETH Zürich (D-ARCH) und weiterer Partner, die dazu beitragen soll, den Nord-Süd Dialog zu fördern. Ziel ist, Wege aufzuzeigen, wie die Stadt und mit ihr das ganze Land das prognostizierte rasante Bevölkerungswachstum ökologisch, sozial und ökonomisch bewältigen können. Die Forschenden gehen davon aus, dass die äthiopische Bevölkerung in den nächsten 15 Jahren von zurzeit 78 auf rund 120 Millionen zunehmen wird. Da sich die ländlichen Gebiete gleichzeitig entvölkern, ist das Wachstum auf die bereits heute aus allen Nähten platzende Hauptstadt und ihr Umland konzentriert.

Ideale Lösung existiert in der Praxis nicht

Die Forschungsinitiative fokussiert auf die Themen Bevölkerung, Wasser, Raum, Bauten/Material, Kapital, Information sowie Energie. Im Vordergrund steht dabei nicht das statische Heute sondern die Stadt als dynamisches System und ihre Entwicklung vom 19. Jahrhundert bis in die ungewissen Zonen der kommenden Jahrzehnte. Eine Prämisse der Forschenden ist, dass eine ideale Lösung für Addis Ababa nicht existiert. Zu heterogen ist die Stadt, zu unübersichtlich, zu dynamisch. Vor diesem Hintergrund setzt das Urban Laboratory die Methode des Entwurfs ein, um Entwicklungsszenarien aufzuzeigen und zu untersuchen, wie die enormen ökologischen, sozialen, kulturellen, ressourcenbezogenen und technischen Hindernisse zu bewältigen sind.

Knowhow vor Ort einbringen

Eine direkte Folge der Initiative des D-ARCH ist das neue „Ethiopian Institute of Architecture, Building Construction and City Development“, das Mitte Oktober 2009 an der Universität von Addis Ababa seine Tätigkeit aufnahm. Die Institutsleitung liegt während der Startphase in den Händen eines Fachmanns des D-ARCH.

Über Addis Ababa und Äthiopien hinaus zeigt die Forschungsinitiative allgemeingültige Ansätze auf, mit denen sich Perspektiven für die immer stärker wachsenden urbanen Territorien des 21. Jahrhunderts entwickeln lassen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die Nachhaltigkeit und damit auch die Lebensqualität der Bevölkerung dieser Zentren.