21 March 2017

Spearheaded by ETH Zurich and CSCS, Switzerland has from the outset been a member of the Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe (PRACE). Now the country is additionally represented as a Hosting Member with ‘Piz Daint’, Europe’s most powerful supercomputer.

Ever since the inception of the Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe (PRACE), Switzerland has been actively represented by ETH Zurich and its affiliated National Supercomputing Centre (CSCS). Seven years or so later, PRACE with its 24 member states has grown established as the leading pan-European collaboration in high performance computing (HPC). It offers users from research and industry free access to the latest supercomputer infrastructure, also providing them with comprehensive and competent support in all aspects of HPC. PRACE 2 was ratified at the 25th PRACE Council in early March. Switzerland becomes a new Hosting Member in this second phase of PRACE, planned to cover the period from 2017 to 2020.

Optimal utilisation of European high-performance computers

As a Hosting Member, Switzerland is now making its ‘Piz Daint’ supercomputer at CSCS available for cutting-edge PRACE research. The other Hosting Members are Spain, Italy, Germany and France. The overarching goal of PRACE is to provide a federated European supercomputing infrastructure with different architectures that is science-driven and globally competitive, according to the PRACE 2 media release. It builds on the strengths of European science providing high-end computing and data analysis resources to drive discoveries and new developments in all areas of science and industry, from fundamental research to applied sciences including: mathematics and computer sciences, medicine and engineering, as well as digital humanities and social sciences.

Piz Daint, a CRAY XC40/XC50, makes CSCS the only PRACE computing centre with a scalable hybrid system of graphics processors and conventional processors, having peak performance of around 20 petaflops. The High-Performance Computing and Networking Strategy (HPCN) launched by the ETH Board in 2009 paved the way to procuring a petaflop-league supercomputer for Switzerland.

Researchers in PRACE member states may now apply for compute time on ‘Piz Daint’, while researchers in Switzerland can gain access to compute time at other Hosting Members. Applications for compute time from Computationally-Intensive, High-Impact Research On Novel Outstanding Science (CHRONOS) projects that previously went via CSCS will now be routed through PRACE instead. “As a Hosting Member, our initiatives in high performance computing with ‘Piz Daint’ will gain further profile internationally and institutionalise our researchers’ access to other leading computing architectures. This will benefit everyone and make Switzerland yet more attractive as a centre of innovation,” says Thomas Schulthess, the Director of CSCS.

User training programmes

In addition to state of the art supercomputer technologies, PRACE also offers comprehensive training courses for students and young scientists in the field of HPC. These include, for example, free workshops, summer schools and online courses.

21. März 2017

Die Schweiz ist mit der ETH Zürich und dem CSCS von Anfang an Mitglied des Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe (PRACE). In PRACE 2 ist sie mit dem leistungsstärksten Supercomputer Europas «Piz Daint» neu auch als Hosting Member vertreten.

Seit der Gründung des Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe (PRACE) ist die Schweiz in PRACE durch die ETH Zürich mit dem ihr angegliederten Nationalen Hochleistungsrechenzentrum (CSCS) aktiv vertreten. Nach rund sieben Jahren hat sich PRACE mit 24 Mitgliedsstaaten als führende pan-europäische Kollaboration im High Performance Computing (HPC) etabliert. Sie bietet ihren Benutzern aus Forschung und Industrie kostenlosen Zugang zu neuster Supercomputer-Infrastruktur und unterstützt sie umfassend und kompetent in allen Belangen des HPC. Am 25. Treffen des PRACE Council, Anfang März, wurde PRACE 2 ratifiziert. In der zweiten Phase von PRACE, die von 2017 bis 2020 geplant ist, ist die Schweiz nun neu als Hosting Member vertreten.

Optimale Nutzung der europäischen Hochleistungsrechner

Als Hosting Member stellt die Schweiz den am CSCS betriebenen Supercomputer «Piz Daint» nun auch für die Spitzenforschung in PRACE zur Verfügung. Weitere Hosting Member sind Spanien, Italien, Deutschland und Frankreich. Das allumfassende Ziel von PRACE ist, einen Verbund europäischer Supercomputer mit unterschiedlichen Architekturen bereitzustellen, der angetrieben durch die Wissenschaft global wettbewerbsfähig ist, heisst es in der zu PRACE 2 herausgegebene Medienmitteilung. Der Verbund beruhe auf der Stärke der europäischen Forschung, und biete high-end Rechen- und Datenanalysen-Ressourcen um Entdeckungen und Neuentwicklungen in allen Gebieten der Forschung und Industrie voranzutreiben, von der Grundlagenforschung über angewandte Forschung einschliesslich Mathematik, Computerwissenschaften, Medizin und Ingenieurswissenschaften bis hin zu digitalen Geisteswissenschaften und Sozialwissenschaften.

Mit Piz Daint, einer CRAY XC40/XC50, verfügt das CSCS als einziges Rechenzentrum in PRACE über ein skalierbares hybrides System aus Graphikprozessoren und herkömmlichen Prozessoren mit einer Spitzenleistung von rund 20 Petaflop. Den Weg für die Beschaffung eines Supercomputers der Petaflop-Leistungsklasse in der Schweiz wurde durch die vom ETH-Rat im Jahr 2009 lancierte Hochleistungsrechnen- und Vernetzungsstrategie (HPCN) geebnet.

Forschende der PRACE-Mitgliedsstaaten können sich nun neu um Rechenzeit auf «Piz Daint» bewerben, während Forschende in der Schweiz Rechenzeit bei anderen Hosting Members erhalten können. Bisherige Bewerbungen um Rechenzeit für Grossprojekte am CSCS, sogenannte Computationally-Intensive, High-Impact Research On Novel Outstanding Science-Projekte (CHRONOS), gehen neu nicht mehr über das CSCS sondern über PRACE. «Als Hosting-Member mit «Piz Daint» werden unsere Initiativen im Höchstleistungsrechnen international noch sichtbarer und der Zugang unserer Forscherinnen und Forscher auf andere führende Rechnerarchitekturen institutionalisiert. Davon werden alle profitieren und die Schweiz als Innovationsstandort nochmal ein Stück attraktiver», sagt Thomas Schulthess, Direktor des CSCS.

Trainingsprogramme für Benutzer

Neben modernster Supercomputer-Technologien bietet PRACE zudem ein umfangreiches Trainingsangebot für Studierende und Nachwuchswissenschaftler im Bereich des HPC. Dazu gehören beispielsweise kostenlose Workshops, Summerschools oder Online-Kurse.