Eawag has been conducting research in the vicinity of Lake Kivu in Africa for years. In the depths of this lake, danger is lurking in the form of billions of cubic metres of dissolved gases. Now, controlled use of methane could kill two birds with one stone, securing the region’s supply of electricity and reducing the risk of a lethal gas eruption.

Lake Kivu, between Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, is around one-and-a-half times the size of the canton Zurich and almost 500 metres deep. Virtually idyllic, yet danger lurks in the depths of this unique waterbody. The water contains around 250bn cubic metres of dissolved carbon dioxide and 55bn cubic metres of dissolved methane. In recent years, Eawag researchers have proved that the concentrations are rising.

Earthquakes would be dangerous

The gas in the deep water remains solute because of the extremely stable stratification of the lake above it. However, if the concentrations continue to rise, or if a major disturbance occurs, such as a volcanic eruption or large earthquake for example, this could change abruptly. There would then be a risk that large numbers of gas bubbles would rise up, with disastrous consequences for the very densely populated shores of the lake. This is exactly what happened in 1986 at Lake Nyos in Cameroon, when a gas eruption caused the deaths of 1,800 people.

Rwanda’s government is currently striving to enable utilisation of the gas reserves in Lake Kivu for electricity generation. The principle is simple: if a pipe is laid in the depths of the lake, the gas bubbles forming in the pipe cause the water to flow upwards by itself. The methane must then be separated from the carbon dioxide, before it can be utilised.

Eawag oversees planning and pilot projects

Eawag research teams under Professor Alfred Wüest, head of the Surface Waters department, are overseeing the planning and the pilot projects for methane extraction at Lake Kivu on behalf of the Rwandan government and the Dutch Commission for Environmental Impact Assessment. The Swiss researchers’ long-standing expertise is in great demand, as nobody knows how the lake will react to the gas extraction. A planning mistake could be disastrous for the lake’s sensitive ecosystem and for the people who live off it.

The core tasks of the Eawag teams include development of a computer model that simulates the lake’s behaviour and a concept for permanent monitoring of this behaviour. In 2010, Eawag researcher Natacha Pasche received the 2010 Swiss Hydrobiology-Limnology Prize for her thesis on the nutrient cycle and methane production in Lake Kivu.

Die Eawag forscht seit Jahren im Gebiet des afrikanischen Kivu-Sees. In dessen Tiefe lauert Gefahr in Form von Milliarden Kubikmetern an gelösten Gasen. Nun könnte eine kontrollierte Nutzung von Methan zwei Fliegen auf einen Schlag erledigen: die Stromversorgung in der Region sichern und das Risiko eines tödlichen Gasausbruchs mindern.

Blick nach Westen auf den Kivu-See in der Nähe von Kibuye (Ruanda). Im Hintergund sieht man die Idjwi-Insel (DR Kongo).Photo: M. Schurter/Eawag

Der Kivu-See zwischen Ruanda und der Demokratischen Republik Kongo ist rund eineinhalbmal so gross wie der Kanton Zürich und fast 500 Meter tief. Eigentlich eine Idylle – doch in der Tiefe des einzigartigen Gewässers lauert Gefahr. Rund 250 Milliarden Kubikmeter Kohlendioxid und 55 Milliarden Kubikmeter Methan sind im Wasser gelöst. Die Forschenden der Eawag haben in den letzten Jahren nachgewiesen, dass die Konzentrationen steigen.

Erdbeben wäre gefährlich

Noch bleibt das Gas in den tiefen Wasserschichten gelöst, weil der See darüber extrem stabil geschichtet ist. Wenn jedoch die Konzentrationen weiter steigen oder wenn eine starke Störung eintritt – ein Vulkanausbruch oder ein grosses Erdbeben zum Beispiel – könnte sich das schlagartig ändern. Dann bestünde die Gefahr, dass Gasblasen in grosser Zahl aufsteigen und an den sehr dicht besiedelten Ufern des Sees zur Katastrophe führen würden. Genau dies geschah 1986 am Nyos-See in Kamerun, als ein Gasausbruch den Tod von 1800 Menschen verursachte.

Zurzeit versucht Ruandas Regierung, die Gasreserven im Kivu-See zur Stromgewinnung nutzbar zu machen. Das Prinzip ist einfach: Wird ein Rohr in die Tiefe des Sees gelegt, strömt das Wasser wegen der im Rohr entstehenden Gasblasen von selbst nach oben. Das Methan muss anschliessend vom Kohlendioxid getrennt werden, bevor es genutzt werden kann.

Eawag begleitet Planung und Pilotprojekte

Forschungsteams der Eawag um Professor Alfred Wüest, Leiter der Abteilung Oberflächengewässer, begleiten im Auftrag der ruandischen Regierung Ruandas und der holländischen Commission

for Environmental Impact Assessment die Planung und die Pilotprojekte der Methanausbeutung am Kivu-See. Das langjährige Knowhow der Schweizer Forschenden ist sehr gefragt, da niemand weiss, wie der See auf die Gasentnahme reagieren wird. Eine Fehlplanung könnte zum Desaster werden für das sensible Ökosystem des Sees und die Menschen, die davon leben.

Zu den zentralen Arbeiten der Eawag-Teams gehören ein Computermodell, welches das Verhalten des Sees simuliert, und ein Konzept zu dessen permanenter Überwachung. 2010 erhielt die Eawag-Forschende Natacha Pasche für ihre Dissertation zum Thema Nährstoffkreislauf und Methanproduktion im Kivusee den

Schweizer Hydrobiologie-Limnologie-Preis 2010.