Researchers from all over the world are using the Swiss muon source at the Paul Scherrer Institute to explore the magnetic and electronic properties of new materials. Nowhere else are so many muons produced: exotic elementary particles that act as micro-probes to explore the processes within materials.

The complex instruments for the muon experiments were custom-developed by the PSI researchers themselves.

“We have instruments that are unique in the world”, says Elvezio Morenzoni, director of the laboratory where the muons are used to investigate the microscopic properties of materials. Muons are electrically charged particles. A negative muon is similar to an electron, but is about 200 times heavier. A positive muon behaves like a lightweight proton. Muons are formed in our surroundings when cosmic rays collide with air molecules in the atmosphere. At the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) in Villigen in the Canton of Aargau, they are produced using a particle accelerator.

Elvezio Morenzoni, Professor at the University of Zurich and head of the Laboratory for Muon Spin Spectroscopy (LMU) at PSI, explains about the labyrinth of machines, concrete blocks, wires and cables spread out below him as he stands on a gallery in  the large experimentation hall. In the opposite corner, behind a metre-thick shield, there is the centrepiece of the hall: the proton accelerator. The 40-year old cyclotron is still the world’s most powerful installation of this type and produces more protons than all the others. In the ring accelerator the positively charged atomic particles reach speeds of up to 80 % of the speed of light. From there the particles are sent to the muon source in the middle of the hall.

The expert uses a model to show what it looks like. Basically it consists of a rotating graphite ring. When the fast protons strike the atomic nucleii in the graphite, new particles are produced, the so-called pions. “These decay to form muons, which can be gathered to form a beam”, the physicist explains. “Because we have more protons available than the competitors, we can also produce more of the muons, and use them to perform experiments that are not possible elsewhere.”

A new type of magnetic material

Thus in summer 2015 an international team was able to show how they had managed to produce a magnetic material from a non-magnetic metal with the aid of the muon measurements. The researchers had applied a layer of special carbon molecules to thin copper strips, thereby altering the properties of the combined material so that it could be permanently magnetised. The measurements at PSI demonstrated that the boundary layer between the copper and the carbon is responsible for the magnetic behaviour.

“These experiments would not have been possible in any other facility in the world”, says Oscar Céspedes from the University of Leeds, who is directing the research project. “We were finding it difficult to determine the magnetic profile in our thin layers.” It was then that members of the group told him about the muon source in Switzerland. The methods at PSI were found to be ideal for studying the thin films from Leeds. Using the new type of material it may be possible to develop magnets that can be used in various new technologies of the future, for example for stor-ing data on hard disks, or for electrical generators, or medical equipment.

Slow muons for thin films

Prof. Elvezio Morenzoni, head of the Laboratory for Muon Spin Spectroscopy (LMU) at the PSI.

To study the copper-carbon films, the team use a method that Elvezio Morenzoni and his group started developing over twenty years ago. “We can produce slow muons with very specific energies, which come to rest in different layers”, the PSI researcher explains. “In this way thin films and multi-layered structures can be examined.” To do this, a trick is needed. This is because the ordinary muons produced from pion decay are so fast they penetrate about half a millimetre into the sample before they decay further. This means they can be used to investigate crystals, but not nanometre-thin layered structures. At PSI a portion of the muons is passed through a frozen noble gas, bringing them almost to a standstill, and then they are accelerated again just enough to achieve the desired very short depth of penetration.

Once they have arrived at the target, the positively charged muons tend to stay between the atoms. Here they behave like tiny compass needles. For the muons have what is known as spin, a quantum mechanical property, which one can imagine as a rotational axis. The freshly generated muons all have this spin aligned in the same direction; that is to say the particles are polarised. But the spin can change depending on the magnetic environment. The polarisation changes or expires in the course of time. If one measures the change in polarisation over a certain period of time, one can draw certain conclusions about the magnetic properties of the material. “The muons are magnetic micro-probes positioned up close to the atoms”, says Elvezio Morenzoni.

The installation that produces slow muons is one of six instruments that are supplied with muons from the muon source. Magnets guide the muons to the detector units shielded in concrete. To view one of the instruments, the physicist has the particle beam switched off, and each visitor has to take a key from a holder before he opens the door to the installation – as a safety measure. Only after everyone has left the detector section, and all the keys are back in their places, can the source be started up again.

Lowest temperatures, highest pressures

Passing along a narrow spiral staircase, one comes to the upper part of the two-floor facility, where the tiny sample is located right at the centre. “We have developed all the instruments ourselves”, says Elvezio Morenzoni. In each experiment the researchers carry out measurements on some ten million muons. The basic method is the same, but each of the six detector sections has a special function. “Here we can, for example, examine samples at very low temperatures”, explains the expert, referring to the figure of ten millikelvins – which is just ten thousandths of a degree above absolute zero. At another detector, the material can be subjected to very high pressures and powerful magnetic fields.

It is true there are similar instruments in England, Canada and Japan, the physicist notes, but it is not possible to achieve such low temperatures, strong magnetic fields and high pressures there. “Even where our facilities are not unique, as is the case with some of the instruments, we are better than the competition.” It is not surprising that in 2015 a scientist from China and a researcher from South Korea came to PSI for a long visit. Similar projects are planned in both those countries. At the PSI collaboration with guests from abroad is a daily event. Many of the muon experiments are performed by international teams, such as the investigations into magnets made from non-magnetic metals, where two PSI staff members, two doctoral students from Leeds University, and two other researchers were involved.

“The teamwork went really well”, says Oscar Céspedes positively. The PSI staff contributed with their considerable knowledge, and showed great commitment, even beyond the normal working hours, he says. “They were a tremendous help to us, first during the experiment, and later also during the data analysis.” Besides the international collaboration, the PSI researchers also perform their own experiments. “One particularly interesting field right now is the study of magnetic semi-conductors”, says Elvezio Morenzoni. The hope is that this will lead to methods of processing data more rapidly while also storing it more efficiently.

Samples from around the world

The magnetic semi-conductors are thin films. It is often not clear whether the whole sample is magnetic or only a part of it. “This is where we come in”, the PSI scientist says. “We can investigate the magnetic properties at the nanometre scale, and see if the sample is homogeneous magnetically.” Therefore the researchers in Villigen obtain the material from all over the world, which is often difficult to manufacture, and therefore highly in demand for experiments.

Besides the magnetic semi-conductors, there are also experiments to study unconventional superconductors made of iron, a category of materials that was only recently discovered in 2008. By examining these materials, the scientists essentially hope to gain greater insight into the phenomenon of superconductivity, where an electrical current is conducted without any losses. “With these iron-based and other unconventional superconductors, something new is found almost every day”, says Elvezio Morenzoni enthusiastically. “If we find something of interest we try to obtain more of the material for our experiments. Of course for such things it helps when you have a good reputation.”

Mit der Myonenquelle am Paul Scherrer Institut untersuchen Forschende aus aller Welt die magnetischen und elektronischen Eigenschaften neuer Materialien. Nirgendwo sonst werden so viele Myonen erzeugt. Exotische Elementarteilchen, die als Mikrosonden Aufschluss über die Vorgänge im Materialinnern liefern.

Die komplexen Instrumente für die Myonen-Experimente haben die PSI-Forschenden selbst entwickelt.

«Wir haben Instrumente, die weltweit einzigartig sind», sagt Elvezio Morenzoni, der Leiter des Labors, in dem mit Myonen die mikroskopi schen Eigenschaften von Materialien erforscht werden. Myonen sind elektrisch geladene Elementarteilchen. Ein negatives Myon gleicht einem Elektron, ist aber rund 200-mal schwerer. Ein positives Myon verhält sich wie ein leichtes Proton. In unserer Umgebung entstehen Myonen, wenn kosmische Strahlung in der Atmosphäre auf Luftmoleküle trifft. Am Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI) im aargauischen Villigen werden sie mit Hilfe eines Teilchenbeschleunigers erzeugt.

Elvezio Morenzoni, Professor an der Universität Zürich und Leiter des Laboratory for Muon Spin Spectroscopy (LMU) am PSI, steht auf einer Galerie in der grossen Experimentierhalle des PSI und erklärt das Labyrinth aus Maschinen, Betonblöcken, Leitungen und Kabeln unter ihm. In der gegenüberliegenden Ecke befindet sich hinter einer meterdicken Abschirmung das Herzstück der Halle: der Protonenbeschleuniger. Das 40 Jahre alte Zyklotron ist nach wie vor die weltweit leistungsfähigste derartiger Anlagen und erzeugt mehr Protonen als alle anderen. Im Ringbeschleuniger erreichen die positiv geladenen Atombausteine bis zu 80 Prozent der Lichtgeschwindigkeit. Von dort aus gelangen die Teilchen in die Mitte der Halle zur Myonenquelle.

Wie diese aussieht, zeigt der Fachmann an einem Modell. Es besteht im Wesentlichen aus einem rotierenden Ring aus Graphit. Prallen die schnellen Protonen auf die Atomkerne des Graphits, entstehen neue Teilchen: sogenannte Pionen. «Diese zerfallen zu Myonen, die man in einem Strahl sammeln kann», erklärt der Physiker. «Weil wir mehr Protonen zur Verfügung haben als die Konkurrenz, können wir auch mehr Myonen erzeugen und damit Experimente machen, die anderswo nicht möglich sind.»

Neuartiges magnetisches Material

So konnte ein internationales Team mit Hilfe der Myonen- Messungen im Sommer 2015 zeigen, wie es ihm gelungen war, aus einem unmagnetischen Metall ein magnetisches Material herzustellen. Die Forschenden hatten auf dünne Kupferstreifen eine Schicht von speziellen Kohlenstoffmolekülen aufgetragen und dadurch die Eigenschaften des kombinierten Materials so verändert, dass dieses permanent magnetisiert werden konnte. Die Messungen am PSI bewiesen, dass die Grenzfläche zwischen Kupfer und Kohlenstoff für das magnetische Verhalten verantwortlich ist.

«Diese Experimente wären in keiner anderen Anlage auf der Welt möglich gewesen», sagt Oscar Céspedes von der Universität Leeds, der das Forschungsprojekt leitet. «Wir hatten zuvor Probleme, das magnetische Profil in unseren Dünnschichten zu bestimmen.» Da machten ihn Gruppenmitglieder auf die Myonenquelle in der Schweiz aufmerksam. Die Methode am PSI erwies sich als ideal, um die dünnen Filme aus Leeds zu untersuchen. Aus dem neuartigen Material können dereinst vielleicht Magnete entwickelt werden, die sich für verschiedene Zukunftstechnologien eignen, zum Beispiel bei der Datenspeicherung auf Festplatten, in Strom generatoren oder medizinischen Geräten.

Langsame Myonen für dünne Filme

Prof. Elvezio Morenzoni, der Leiter des Laboratory for Muon Spin Spectroscopy (LMU) am PSI.

Für die Untersuchung des Kupfer-Kohlenstoff-Films verwendete das Team ein Verfahren, mit dessen Entwicklung Elvezio Morenzoni und seine Gruppe vor zwanzig Jahren begonnen hatten. «Wir können langsame Myonen mit ganz bestimmten Energien herstellen, die in verschiedenen Schichten stoppen», erklärt der PSI-Forscher. «So lassen sich dünne Filme und Strukturen aus mehreren Schichten untersuchen.» Dazu braucht es einen Trick. Denn die ge wöhnlichen Myonen, die beim Pionenzerfall entstehen, sind so schnell, dass sie etwa einen halben Millimeter in eine Probe eindringen, bevor sie weiter zerfallen. Damit lassen sich zwar Kristalle untersuchen, nicht aber nanometerdünne Schichtstrukturen. Am PSI wird ein Teil der Myonen durch gefrorenes Edelgas geschickt, dadurch fast gestoppt und erneut nur so stark beschleunigt, dass sie die gewünschte kurze Eindringtiefe erreichen.

Am Ziel angekommen, befinden sich die positiv geladenen Myonen bevorzugt zwischen den Atomen. Hier verhalten sie sich wie winzige Kompassnadeln. Denn Myonen besitzen einen sogenannten Spin, eine quantenmechanische Eigenschaft, die man sich als Drehachse vorstellen kann. Bei den frisch erzeugten Myonen weist dieser Spin in dieselbe Richtung; das heisst, die Teilchen sind polarisiert. Doch je nach magnetischer Umgebung, kann sich die Spinrichtung ändern. Die Polarisation ändert sich oder erlischt mit der Zeit. Misst man die Polarisationsänderung über einen bestimmten Zeitraum, kann man daraus Rückschlüsse über die magnetischen Eigenschaften des Materials ziehen. «Die Myonen sind also magnetische Mikrosonden nahe bei den Atomen», erklärt Elvezio Morenzoni.

Die Anlage, die langsame Myonen liefert, ist eines von sechs Instrumenten, die von der Myonenquelle mit Teilchen versorgt werden. Magnete leiten die Myonen zu den mit Beton abgeschirmten Messplätzen. Für die Besichtigung eines der Instrumente lässt der Physiker den Teilchenstrahl abschalten und jeden Besucher einen Schlüssel aus einer Halterung ziehen, bevor er die Tür zur Anlage öffnet – aus Sicherheitsgründen. Erst wenn jedermann den Messplatz verlassen hat und sämtliche Schlüssel wieder stecken, kann die Quelle erneut eingeschaltet werden.

Tiefste Temperatur, höchster Druck

Über eine enge Wendeltreppe gelangt man zum oberen Teil der zweistöckigen Vorrichtung, in deren Herz die winzige Probe steckt. «Alle Instrumente haben wir im Eigenbau entwickelt», sagt Elvezio Morenzoni. Bei jedem Experiment messen die Forschenden rund zehn Millionen Myonen. Dabei bleibt die Grundmethode dieselbe, aber jeder der sechs Messplätze ist spezialisiert. «Hier können wir beispielsweise Proben bei sehr tiefen Temperaturen untersuchen», erklärt der Experte und meint damit zehn Millikelvin – einen Wert, der nur 10 Tausendstelgrad über dem absoluten Nullpunkt liegt. An einem anderen Messplatz lässt sich das Material sehr hohen Drücken oder hohen magnetischen Feldern aussetzen.

Ähnliche Instrumente gebe es zwar in England, Kanada und Japan, erzählt der Physiker, doch so tiefe Temperaturen sowie hohe Magnetfelder und Drücke könnten dort nicht erreicht werden. «Selbst da, wo wir nicht einzigartig sind, wie bei einigen Instrumenten, sind wir besser als die Konkurrenz.» Kein Wunder besuchten 2015 für eine längere Zeit eine Wissenschaftlerin aus China und ein Forscher aus Südkorea das PSI. In beiden Ländern sind ähnliche Projekte geplant. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ausländischen Gästen gehört am PSI zum Alltag. Viele der Myonen-Experimente werden in internationaler Kollaboration durchgeführt, wie die Untersuchung der Magnete aus unmagnetischen Metallen, an der zwei PSI-Mitarbeitende, zwei Doktoranden der Universität Leeds und zwei weitere Forschende beteiligt waren.

«Die Zusammenarbeit hat hervorragend funktioniert», rühmt Oscar Céspedes. Die PSI-Mitarbeitenden hätten ihr grosses Wissen eingebracht und sich extrem stark eingesetzt – auch ausserhalb der normalen Arbeitszeit. «Sie haben uns unglaublich viel geholfen, zuerst während des Experiments, aber auch später bei der Datenanalyse.» Neben den internationalen Beteiligungen führen die PSI-Forschenden auch eigene Experimente durch. «Ein besonders interessantes Gebiet sind zurzeit die magnetischen Halbleiter», erklärt Elvezio Morenzoni. Man erhofft sich davon, Daten gleichzeitig schneller verarbeiten und effizienter speichern zu können.

Proben aus aller Welt

Bei den magnetischen Halbleitern handelt es sich um dünne Filme. Oft ist unklar, ob die ganze Probe magnetisch ist oder nur ein Teil davon. «Da kommen wir ins Spiel», sagt der PSI-Wissenschaftler. «Wir können die magnetischen Eigenschaften auf Nanometerniveau untersuchen und schauen, ob eine Probe homogen magnetisch ist.» Deshalb erhalten die Forschenden in Villigen Material aus aller Welt, das oft nicht einfach herzustellen und für Experimente entsprechend gesucht ist.

Dazu gehören neben den magnetischen Halbleitern auch un konventionelle Supraleiter aus Eisen, eine Klasse von Materialien, die erst 2008 entdeckt wurde. Von der Untersuchung dieser Materialien erhoffen sich die Wissenschaftler generell mehr Einsicht in das Phänomen der Supraleitung, bei dem elektrischer Strom verlustfrei geleitet wird. «Bei den eisenbasierten und anderen unkonventionellen Supraleitern gibt es praktisch jeden Tag etwas Neues», sagt Elvezio Morenzoni begeistert. «Wenn etwas besonders Interessantes dabei ist, bemühen wir uns, das Material für eine Untersuchung zu bekommen. Dabei hilft natürlich eine gute Reputation.»