Excellent education and state-of-the-art research form the pillars of Switzerland's strong capacity for innovation and are therefore among the most valuable resources. But anyone who wants to survive in the increasingly harder global competition needs to have the world's best minds on their team. For successful scientific work knows no national boundaries.

Yansheng Liu studied biology in Beijing and Shanghai. Proteins constitute his special field of research. He studies the totality of all proteins in an organism, what is known as the proteome. After completing his doctoral thesis, the young scientist had the chance to continue his research at the leading Chinese biology institute in Shanghai. However, in 2010 while attending an international conference in Sydney, he met ETH Zurich Professor Ruedi Aebersold, and he applied for a position in his research group. He was very impressed by the discussion he had with the famous Swiss scientist, relates Yansheng Liu. “His Institute of Molecular Systems Biology is at the forefront in the field of proteomics.” Moreover, he says, the ETH Zurich is one of the best universities in the world.

Yansheng Liu was appointed to the position of post-doctoral research fellow and has been working enthusiastically in the Zurich laboratory for nearly four years now. “There are many highly motivated young scientists in Asia, who are incredibly keen on performing”, says Ruedi Aebersold. "Our research programme is in great demand internationally. Therefore, students and scientists apply from all over the world, wanting to work with us." Although some of the doctoral students on his team are from Switzerland, almost all of the postdocs are from abroad. “Swiss students who have written their doctoral thesis here should definitely go abroad so that they get to know various research cultures, and make contacts”, says the Professor of ETH Zurich. It is important for a later career to have an international visibility. Like the German post-doctoral research fellow Christina Ludwig from the Aebersold Group, for example. “Researchers from various different countries contribute different aspects”, she says. “I am quite sure that we would not be so successful if we were all from the same country.”

Research into the tuberculosis pathogen

Ruedi Aebersold and his team are studying the proteome with the aid of mass spectrometry, which separates out and identifies the molecules according to their mass and charge. For this they are developing new methods of measurement which make the analysis quicker and more efficient. Not only is the team itself international in its composition, the contacts with research groups around the globe are also important. “Our work really starts to get interesting when we find applications for the technology we have developed”, the research head explains. “So we are very interested in cooperating with other researchers, both in Switzerl and and internationally.” Therefore, his team took part in a European project to research into the tuberculosis pathogen. The infective disease TB has become rare in Switzerland, but it still causes some two million deaths in the world each year; many of these are people infected with HIV in Africa. The experts are also concerned about aggressive, antibiotic-resistant strains of bacteria that are spreading out from Russia.

Using samples taken from affected patients in various continents, the researchers in Zurich were able to determine whether the bacteria were of the more aggressive or resistant type – a result that makes it possible to develop new medicines. The EU project, with groups from ten countries, was completed at the end of September 2014. The Zurich team is now continuing its work in the SystemsX.ch network, as part of a project under the leadership of Professor Sebastien Gagneux of the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute in Basel. The Swiss research initiative for systems biology, in which about 300 research groups are participating, is being promoted by the Swiss Confederation.

Unique combination

Etienne Caron is impressed by his supervisor's personal network of contacts. The Canadian has been working as a post-doctoral research fellow under Ruedi Aebersold for two years. “My dream is to become an assistant professor and set up my own research group”, the young scientist says. It is really a great help to work in a highly respected group like this, and where the research head is serving on many committees, he says. Etienne Caron works in the field of immunology. Using the methods of mass spectrometry, he identifies antigens that are recognised by the immune system. The aim is to train the body's own defences so that they can actually detect cancer cells – a highly topical issue right now. He acquired his knowledge of biology at the university in Montreal, the Canadian relates. He is now able to combine this with the methodological skills of the Zurich team – a unique combination and one that is causing great interest among the specialists, as shown by the many inquiries coming in from other universities. Ruedi Aebersold spent most of his career doing research in other countries. After his studies at the University of Basel, he was involved in research in the USA for twenty years, and was co-founder of the reputed Institute for Systems Biology in Seattle, before returning to Switzerland in 2004, not least because of the excellent conditions here. “In contrast to the USA, here one can take up long-term research projects”, the Professor of ETH Zurich explains. “In Europe, the universities invest in their infrastructure; people have time to plan and implement the research proposals.” In the USA, though, researchers had to procure all the funding themselves, which then only lasted for a period of three to four years.

Save the planet

The assurance of long-term research funding was also the main reason why Prof. Berend Smit moved to Switzerland from the USA. The Dutchman has been working as Director of the “Centre de l’énergie” at EPFL since July 2014. He had previously been a chemist in the oil group Shell, and was the director of a European laboratory in Lyon, before he went on to work at Berkeley in California as a professor. Again in Berkeley, he was appointed director of one of the Energy Frontier Research Centers at the national Energy Department of the USA. His office in Lausanne is still rather empty, but the internationally renowned scientist is full of energy and bubbles with enthusiasm when he speaks of his ideas: “I want to save the planet”, he says, smiling, when asked about the long-term goals of his work – although he is well aware of the concerns thrown up by the initial situation.

“The indications of global warming are clear and quite alarming, and at the present time it is not possible to replace all the fossil fuels by renewable ones”, says Berend Smit. “But it is possible to separate out the carbon dioxide from the exhaust emissions and store it inside geological formations.” This is in fact his special field. In collaboration with Chinese researchers, he has recently developed a sludge-like material that can efficiently capture CO2 molecules. The specialist in the computer simulation of molecular behaviour is confident that the separation and storage of carbon dioxide is technically feasible, but the process currently requires too much energy and is therefore still too expensive.

The ambitious scientist was the first person of choice for the university when filling the post. “He is an outstanding researcher and teacher”, says EPFL vice-president Prof. Philippe Gillet. His appointment will further strengthen the energy research at the university, he says, because he is one of the world's leading authorities in the field of the separation, fixation and storage of car bon dioxide from mixtures of gases. Berend Smit considers EPFL to be one of the top three institutions in Europe for an academic career, next to ETH Zurich and the Max Planck Institutes in Germany.

Promoting original ideas

Energy research is one field today where it is hard for an individual researcher to make a breakthrough, the chemist Berend Smit says. “It calls for knowledge in various areas, and approaching the problem from various different viewpoints.” As is the case with ETH Zurich, EPFL also attracts top candidates from all over the world, he says and names one example: A young chemist, who had offers from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in America and from EPFL, chose the Swiss University. “We interviewed the scientist at Berkeley, too,” relates the professor, “but my colleagues considered herself and her research to be too risky”. I was pleased that the EPFL actually offered her the position precisely for this reason, because she had the courage to propose such an extremely interesting research project. The scientist thinks it is good that a university is willing to support original ideas, and is ready to take a chance. It is only in this way that great advances can be achieved. He is pleased about the new EPFL campus being established in Sion, where in the coming years a young team will devote their full attention to the important task he is working on, namely: to save the planet by developing ways to separate out and store carbon dioxide, and by finding new ways to utilise hydrogen in the energy sector. “This project is extremely appealing”, says Berend Smit enthusiastically, “Because we have the resources needed to become a worldwide leading institute.”

More than half of the teaching faculty at the two Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology come from abroad. “Switzerland does have extraordinarily talented people, but it is a small country”, says Philippe Gillet. In order to maintain the outstanding international position of the ETH Domain, it is crucial that one can recruit the best researchers and teachers – “irrespective of origin and nationality”, he says. It is not only the universities that notice the lack of native new talent in the small country Switzerland, the industry too is in need of more specialists. Berend Smit finds it evident that “The limited influx of highly qualified people is considered by leading economists to be a bottleneck for the future growth of the Swiss economy”. The training of STEM specialists from abroad could help in filling this need.

The international environment: good training for Swiss students

Almost half of the undergraduates and doctoral students come from abroad. The international environment is also advantageous for the Swiss students. They have the chance to move in this environment even while preparing for their Master's degree, and thus get ready for a career in science. “We have very good Swiss students”, says Ruedi Aebersold, “but they often find it difficult to prevail when they are in an international group of ambitious young scientists, because the competition is so extensive and ambitious”. The publication of research results in the specialist journals show how the institutions in the ETH Domain are all among the best in the world. These publications are an expression of the new knowledge gained, and can be used as a gauge of quality. Publications in the British journal Nature and in the American journal Science command great respect. One can say that they have a strong “impact factor”. Articles published in these journals are viewed internationally as a special evidence of performance.

In 2014, an article in Nature published by a team under the direction of the PSI and the Chinese Academy of Sciences CAS in Xi'an led to a great worldwide interest. It revealed how China's record levels of particulate pollution in Winter 2013 came about. The researchers found that the “Airpocalypse” was to a large extent caused by a secondary formation of fine dust or aerosol. Unlike soot, for example, this first forms in the air from gaseous precursor substances such as sulphur dioxide, oxides of nitrogen, and organic compounds from wood-burning fires. “A Chinese postdoctoral research fellow, who was working here at PSI, set up the connection with the group in Xi’an”, says André Prévôt, head of the “Gas Phase and Aerosol Chemistry” group. This allowed the Swiss team to obtain dust filters from China, which it was then able to examine in the laboratory at the PSI using a wide range of measurement and analysis techniques.

Research with a global relevance

The article published in Nature caused a great stir in the media. The air pollution in China affects many people and has a global significance, the atmospheric physicist says. “This is actually a great source of motivation for us researchers and makes the work particularly exciting.” Because the situation in China is more complex than that in Switzerland, they had to develop new methods for aerosol analysis. “Now we will be able to use the same methods here as well”, explains André Prévôt, pointing out the direct benefit for Switzerland.

“International cooperation means that the work can be done more efficiently and quickly”, says Prof. Niklaus Zimmermann, member of the Directorate of WSL. The macroecologist was the co-director of an EU project in which, among other things, scenarios were developed that show how global climate change and change in land use affect biodiversity. “International teams bring together advanced expertise from various areas of specialisation”, says Niklaus Zimmermann. “This often opens up new approaches and innovative methods of analysis, and it simply produces results that have a greater visibility.” The primary benefit to himself personally, is the setting up of a Europe-wide network of contacts in his field of specialisation. “If one is constructive and productive, such networks continue to thrive even without specific projects, and indeed they can lead to long-term friendships”, says Niklaus Zimmermann.

For research areas that are politically relevant, it is particularly important to take a look beyond the national borders. This is what Adriano Joss, process engineer at Eawag, emphasises. He is the co-director of an EU project for organic waste-water purification. The goal of the research project is to achieve a better under-standing of the microbial decomposition of organic contaminants, such as those from antibiotics, painkillers and biocides. Over the coming years, about 100 of the total 700 waste-water treatment plants in Switzerland will be fitted out with an additional purification stage in order to remove microbial contaminants. “For this, the tax-payer provides ten to twenty Swiss francs per year”, says Adriano Joss, “so one automatically then asks how things look in other countries”. There are of course very good scientists in Switzerland, but waste-water research is not an enormous field. Therefore international cooperation is important, he says.

Factories of the future

The economy benefits from the EU projects, too. As one can see from various EU reports, about a third of the research funding from the 7th framework programme (FP7) went to the industry. Professor Frank Nüesch heads the Empa department “Functional Polymers”. He is directing the European EU research project TREASORES, in which a total of 19 partners from Switzerland, Germany, Great Britain, Finland and Spain are participating – universities, institutes of technology and companies. “The goal is to develop a competitive product which will promote advances in the industry in Europe”, says the coordinator. The subject here is organic solar cells and light-emitting diodes that should be available in future at a low price by the square metre.

A dye in the plastic solar cells captures the sunlight. To produce electricity, one needs several layers of organic semiconductors and electrode material, as well as barriers that protect the cells from water and oxygen. If these layers are deposited on a flexible backing fabric, one can manufacture them in a “roll-to-roll” process. The active layers of dye and polymer can be printed out, dried and rolled up again, by the meter on the conveyor belt. Frank Nüesch and his colleagues now want to take the process that already works in the lab, and develop it for large-scale industrial production as part of the EU programme “Factories of the Future”.

Contracts for Swiss Industry

“To realise this goal we need the European cooperation”, says the Empa researcher, who is a pioneer internationally in the field of organic optoelectronics. “We would not find the partners for this project in Switzerland alone.” In future, the inexpensive solar cells and lighting elements are to be produced in Cambridge and Munich. Swiss firms can still benefit from the EU project, as suppliers for the large-scale industries. With help from Empa researchers, a company in Thal that manufactures fabrics for silk-screen printing and filter processes is developing its material so that it can serve as a transparent, conductive carrier material. “An original, cost-effective concept”, concludes the expert, and shows us various samples that are being tested in the laboratory in Dübendorf.

A second Swiss company that is participating in the EU project produces films for foodstuff packaging – again another candidate for a transparent and impervious carrier material. “In fact, by developing the roll-to-roll production process, we are also raising awareness in the Swiss mechanical engineering industry as to how they can construct coating systems”, Frank Nüesch says. “The EU project represents a great gain, not only for Empa.”

The experts are confident that with the research results achieved by the whole ETH Domain, solutions can be found to urgent topical problems. For technological innovation is driven forward by top achievements in research and education. This will lead to economic opportunities for Swiss firms and public institutions, says EPFL vice-president Philippe Gillet. “Switzerland is one of the most innovative countries. The whole society and economy can profit from this dynamic energy.” And our university graduates are the most important players in tomorrow's world.

Exzellente Bildung und Spitzenforschung sind tragende Säulen der Schweizer Innovationskraft und gehören damit zu den wertvollsten Ressourcen. Doch wer im immer härter werdenden globalen Wettbewerb bestehen will, muss die weltweit besten Köpfe im Team haben. Denn erfolgreiche wissenschaftliche Arbeit kennt keine Landesgrenzen.

Das internationale Team am ETH-Institut für Molekulare Systembiologie in Zürich: Der Schweizer Forschungsleiter Ruedi Aebersold, Etienne Caron aus Kanada, Yansheng Liu ist Chinese und Christina Ludwig stammt aus Deutschland (v.?l.?n.?r.).

Yansheng Liu hat in Peking und Shanghai Biologie studiert. Sein Forschungsgebiet sind die Proteine. Er untersucht die Gesamtheit aller Eiweisse in einem Organismus, das sogenannte Proteom. Der junge Wissenschaftler hätte nach seiner Doktorarbeit am führenden chinesischen Biologie-Institut in Shanghai weiter forschen können. Doch 2010 traf er in Sydney auf einer internationalen Konferenz auf den ETH-Zürich-Professor Ruedi Aebersold und bewarb sich für eine Stelle in dessen Forschungsgruppe. Das Gespräch mit dem berühmten Schweizer Wissenschaftler habe ihn sehr beeindruckt, erzählt Yansheng Liu. «Sein Institut für Molekulare Systembiologie ist führend auf dem Gebiet der Proteomik.» Zudem gehöre die ETH Zürich zu den weltweit besten Hochschulen.

Yansheng Liu erhielt eine Stelle als Postdoktorand und arbeitet seit knapp vier Jahren mit vollem Einsatz im Zürcher Labor. «In Asien gibt es viele hoch motivierte, junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die unglaublich leistungsbereit sind», sagt Ruedi Aebersold. «Unser Forschungsprogramm ist international sehr gefragt. Deshalb melden sich Studentinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt, die bei uns arbeiten möchten.» Während einige der Doktorierenden in seinem Team aus der Schweiz kommen, stammen fast alle Postdocs aus dem Ausland. «Schweizer Studierende, die hier ihre Doktorarbeit geschrieben haben, sollten anschliessend unbedingt ins Ausland gehen, um unterschiedliche Forschungskulturen kennen zu lernen und Beziehungen zu knüpfen», so der Professor der ETH Zürich. Für die spätere Karriere sei es wichtig, international sichtbar zu werden. Wie die deutsche Postdoktorandin Christina Ludwig aus der Ruedi-Aebersold-Gruppe. «Forschende verschiedener Nationen bringen unterschiedliche Aspekte ein», sagt sie. «Ich bin überzeugt, dass wir nicht so erfolgreich wären, wenn wir alle aus dem gleichen Land stammen würden.»

Tuberkulose-Erreger erforschen

Ruedi Aebersold und sein Team untersuchen das Proteom mit Hilfe der Massenspektrometrie, die Moleküle nach deren Masse und Ladung aufteilt. Sie entwickeln dabei neue Messmethoden, mit denen die Analyse schneller und effizienter erfolgt. Nicht nur das Team selbst ist international zusammengesetzt, wichtig sind auch Kontakte zu Forschungsgruppen rund um den Globus. «Unsere Arbeit wird erst dann interessant, wenn wir Anwendungsgebiete für die von uns entwickelte Technologie finden», so der Forschungsleiter. «Wir sind deshalb sehr an der nationalen und internationalen Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Forschenden interessiert.» So beteiligte sich sein Team an einem europäischen Projekt zur Erforschung des Tuberkulose-Erregers. Die Infektionskrankheit TB ist in der Schweiz zwar selten geworden, fordert weltweit aber jährlich etwa zwei Millionen Tote, viele davon HIV-Infizierte in Afrika. Sorgen bereiten den Fachleuten aber auch aggressive und antibiotikar esistente Bakterien-Stämme, die sich von Russland aus verbreiten.

Bei Proben von betroffenen Patientinnen und Patienten von verschiedenen Kontinenten können die Forschenden in Zürich herausfinden, ob es sich um mehr oder weniger aggressive oder resistente Bakterien handelt – eine Erkenntnis, die die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente ermöglicht. Das EU-Projekt mit Gruppen aus zehn Ländern wurde Ende September 2014 abgeschlossen. Das Zürcher Team führt seine Arbeit nun im Netzwerk SystemsX.ch im Rahmen eines Projektes unter der Leitung von Prof. Sebastien Gagneux vom Schweizerischen Tropen- und Public Health-Institut in Basel weiter. Die Schweizer Forschungsinitiative für Systembiologie, an der sich rund 300 Forschungsgruppen beteiligen, wird vom Bund gefördert.

Einzigartige Kombination

Das persönliche Netzwerk seines Chefs beeindruckt Etienne Caron. Der Kanadier arbeitet seit zwei Jahren als Postdoktorand bei Ruedi Aebersold. «Mein Traum ist es, Assistenzprofessor zu werden und eine eigene Forschungsgruppe aufzubauen», so der junge Wissenschaftler. Da helfe es enorm, wenn man in einer renommierten Gruppe arbeiten könne und der Forschungsleiter in zahlreichen Komitees vertreten sei. Etienne Caron beschäftigt sich mit Immunologie. Er bestimmt mit Hilfe massenspektrometrischer Methoden Antigene, die vom Immunsystem erkannt werden. Ziel ist, die körpereigene Abwehr so zu trainieren, dass sie Krebszellen aufspürt – ein hochaktuelles Gebiet. An der Universität in Montreal habe er sich das biologische Wissen erworben, erzählt der Kanadier. Jetzt könne er dies mit den methodischen Kenntnissen des Zürcher Teams verbinden – eine einzigartige Kombination, die in der Fachwelt auf reges Interesse stösst, wie Anfragen von anderen Universitäten zeigen. Auch Ruedi Aebersold machte einen Grossteil seiner Forscherkarriere im Ausland. Nach dem Studium an der Universität Basel forschte er zwanzig Jahre lang in den USA und war Mitgründer des renommierten Instituts für System biologie in Seattle, bevor er 2004 in die Schweiz zurückkehrte, nicht zuletzt wegen der hervorragenden Rahmenbedingungen. «Im Gegensatz zu den USA kann man hier längerfristige Forschungsprojekte in Angriff nehmen», erklärt der Professor der ETH Zürich. «In Europa investieren die Hochschulen in die Infrastruktur; man hat Zeit, Forschungsvorhaben zu planen und umzusetzen.» In den USA hingegen müssten die Forschenden alle Fördermittel selbst beschaffen, die sich dann jeweils nur über eine Periode von drei bis vier Jahren erstreckten.

Den Planeten retten

Die langfristig gesicherte Forschungsfinanzierung war auch für Prof. Berend Smit der Hauptgrund, um aus den USA in die Schweiz zu wechseln. Der gebürtige Niederländer ist seit Juli 2014 Direktor des «Centre de l’énergie» der EPFL. Er arbeitete als Chemiker beim Ölkonzern Shell und war Direktor eines europäischen Labors in Lyon, bevor er im kalifornischen Berkeley eine Professur über-nahm. Ebenfalls in Berkeley übernahm er als Direktor die Leitung eines der Energy Frontier Research Centres des US-Energiedepartements. Sein Büro in Lausanne ist noch etwas leer, aber der international anerkannte Wissenschaftler ist voller Tatendrang und sprüht vor Energie, wenn er von seinen Ideen erzählt: «Ich will den Planeten retten», meint er lachend, angesprochen auf das langfristige Ziel seiner Arbeit – wohl wissend, dass die Ausgangslage Anlass zur Sorge gibt.

«Die Signale für die Klimaerwärmung sind eindeutig und besorgniserregend, und zurzeit ist es nicht möglich, sämtliche fossilen Energieträger durch erneuerbare zu ersetzen», sagt Berend Smit. «Aber man kann das Kohlendioxid aus Abgasen abscheiden und in geologischen Formationen speichern.» Das ist denn auch sein Spezialgebiet. In Zusammenarbeit mit chinesischen Forschenden hat er kürzlich ein schlammartiges Material entwickelt, das CO2-Moleküle effizient einfangen kann. Der Fachmann für molekulare Computersimulationen ist überzeugt: Das Abscheiden und Lagern von Kohlendioxid ist technisch realisierbar, aber der Prozess braucht derzeit zu viel Energie und ist daher noch zu teuer.

Der ambitionierte Wissenschaftler war der Wunschkandidat der Hochschule bei der Neubesetzung der Stelle. «Er ist ein hervorragender Forscher und Lehrer», sagt EPFL-Vizepräsident Prof. Philippe Gillet. Seine Berufung werde die Energieforschung an der Hochschule weiter stärken, denn er sei weltweit führend auf dem Gebiet der Abscheidung, Bindung und Speicherung von Kohlendioxid aus Gasmischungen. Berend Smit zählt die EPFL neben der ETH Zürich und den deutschen Max-Planck-Instituten zu den drei Top-Institutionen in Europa für eine akademische Karriere.

Originelle Ideen fördern

Gerade in der Energieforschung gelinge heute einem einzelnen Forschenden kaum mehr ein Durchbruch, sagt der Chemiker Berend Smit. «Es braucht Wissen auf verschiedenen Gebieten und unterschiedliche Blickwinkel, aus denen man ein Problem angeht.» Wie die ETH Zürich ziehe auch die EPFL Topkandidaten aus aller Welt an, sagt er und nennt ein Beispiel: Eine junge Chemikerin, die Angebote vom US-amerikanischen Massachusetts Institute of Technology und der EPFL hatte, entschied sich für die Schweizer Hochschule. «In Berkeley haben wir die Wissenschaftlerin auch interviewt», erzählt der Professor, «doch meine Kollegen fanden sie und ihre Forschung zu gewagt. Ich war froh, dass die EPFL ihr die Position gerade deshalb angeboten hatte, weil sie den Mut hat, ein hochinteressantes Forschungsvorhaben vorzuschlagen». Dass eine Hochschule auf originelle Ideen setzt und dafür auch bereit ist, etwas zu riskieren, findet der Wissenschaftler richtig. Nur so können grosse Fortschritte gelingen. Er freut sich auf den Aufbau eines neuen EPFL-Campus in Sion, wo sich ein junges Team in den nächsten Jahren voll auf seine wichtige Aufgabe konzentrieren soll: den Planeten retten, indem es die Kohlendioxid-Abscheidung und -Speicherung weiter entwickelt und neue Wege für den Einsatz von Wasserstoff in der Energiewirtschaft findet. «Das ist ein extrem attraktives Projekt», schwärmt Berend Smit. «Denn wir haben die Ressourcen, um ein weltweit führendes Institut zu werden.»

Mehr als die Hälfte der Professorenschaft an den beiden ETH stammen aus dem Ausland. «Die Schweiz hat zwar ausgezeichnete Talente, doch sie ist ein kleines Land», so Philippe Gillet. Um die hervorragende internationale Stellung des ETH-Bereichs aufrechtzuerhalten, sei es entscheidend, dass man die besten Forschenden und Lehrenden rekrutieren könne – «unabhängig von Herkunft und Nationalität». Nicht nur die Universitäten spüren in der kleinen Schweiz den Mangel an einheimischen Nachwuchstalenten, auch der Industrie fehlen Fachkräfte. «Der beschränkte Nachschub an hochqualifizierten Leuten wird von führenden Ökonomen als Engpass für das künftige Wachstum der Schweizer Wirtschaft gesehen», ist Berend Smit überzeugt. Die Ausbildung ausländischer MINT-Fachkräfte könnte zur Behebung dieses Mangels beitragen.

Internationales Umfeld: Gutes Training für Schweizer Studierende

Bei den Studierenden und Doktorierenden stammen fast die Hälfte aus dem Ausland. Das internationale Umfeld ist auch für die Schweizer Studierenden ein Vorteil: Sie erhalten so schon auf dem Weg zum Masterabschluss die Gelegenheit, sich darin zu bewegen und sich auf eine wissenschaftliche Karriere vorzubereiten. «Wir haben sehr gute Schweizer Studentinnen und Studenten», sagt Ruedi Aebersold, «die sich aber oft nur schwer in einer internationalen Gruppe von ambitionierten jungen Forschenden durchsetzen, weil die Konkurrenz sehr gross und ehrgeizig ist.» Dass sämtliche Institutionen im ETH-Bereich zur weltweiten Spitze gehören, zeigen die Veröffentlichungen von Forschungsergebnissen in Fachzeitschriften. Sie sind Ausdruck von Wissensgewinn und ermöglichen eine Qualitätskontrolle. Grosse Beachtung finden Publikationen im britischen «Nature» und US-amerikanischen «Science». Sie haben einen hohen sogenannten Impakt-Faktor. Veröffentlichungen in diesen Journalen gelten international als besonderer Leistungsausweis.

Weltweit besonders beachtet wurde 2014 die «Nature»-Publikation eines Teams unter der Leitung des PSI und der chinesischen Akademie für Wissenschaften CAS in Xi’an. Sie enthüllte, wie Chinas rekordhohe Feinstaubbelastung im Winter 2013 zustande kam. Die Forschenden fanden heraus, dass die «Airpokalypse» zu einem wesentlichen Teil durch sekundär gebildeten Feinstaub verursacht wurde. Im Gegensatz etwa zu Russ entsteht dieser erst in der Luft aus gasförmigen Vorläufersubstanzen, beispielsweise Schwefeldioxid, Stickoxiden und organischen Verbindungen aus Holzfeuerungen. «Ein chinesischer Postdoktorand, der bei uns am PSI arbeitet, stellte die Verbindung zur Gruppe in Xi’an her», sagt André Prévôt, der Leiter der Gruppe «Gasphasen- und Aerosolchemie». So erhielt das Schweizer Team Feinstaubfilter aus China, die es im Labor am PSI mit einem breiten Spektrum von Mess- und Analysetechniken untersuchen konnte.

Forschung mit globaler Relevanz

Die in «Nature» veröffentlichte Arbeit löste ein grosses Medienecho aus. Die Luftverschmutzung in China betreffe viele Leute und habe eine globale Relevanz, so der Atmosphärenphysiker: «Das ist auch eine grosse Motivation für uns Forschende und macht die Arbeit besonders spannend.» Da die Situation in China komplexer ist als in der Schweiz, mussten sie eine neue Methode zur Feinstaubanalyse entwickeln. «Diese Methode können wir nun auch hier anwenden», erklärt André Prévôt den direkten Nutzen für die Schweiz.

«Durch internationale Zusammenarbeit lassen sich Arbeiten umfassender oder effizienter und schneller durchführen», sagt Prof. Niklaus Zimmermann, Direktionsmitglied der WSL. Der Makroökologe war Co-Leiter eines EU-Projekts, in dem u. a. Szenarien entwickelt wurden, die aufzeigen, wie sich der Klima- und Landnutzungswandel auf die Biodiversität auswirkt. «Internationale Teams vereinen hohe Kompetenzen aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten», sagt Niklaus Zimmermann. «Dadurch eröffnen sich oft neue Wege, innovative Analysen und schlicht Resultate von höherer Sichtbarkeit.» Er profitierte persönlich vor allem vom Aufbau eines europaweiten Netzwerks in seinem Fachgebiet. «Ist man konstruktiv und produktiv tätig, funktionieren solche Netzwerke auch ohne konkrete Projekte weiter, und es können daraus sogar lang anhaltende Freundschaften entstehen», sagt Niklaus Zimmermann.

Gerade bei politisch relevanten Forschungsgebieten drängt sich ein Blick über die Grenze auf. Das betont Adriano Joss, Prozess ingenieur an der Eawag. Er ist Co-Leiter eines EU-Projekts zur biologischen Abwasserreinigung. Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist ein besseres Verständnis des mikrobiellen Abbaus von organischen Schadstoffen, z. B. aus Antibiotika, Schmerzmitteln oder Bioziden. In den nächsten Jahren werden rund 100 der insgesamt gut 700 Abwasserreinigungsanlagen in der Schweiz mit einer weiteren Reinigungsstufe ausgestattet, um Mikroverunreinigungen zu beseitigen. «Der Steuerzahler gibt dafür zehn bis zwanzig Franken pro Jahr aus», sagt Adriano Joss. «Da fragt man automatisch: Wie sieht das im Ausland aus?» In der Schweiz gebe es zwar sehr gute Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, doch die Abwasserforschung sei ein überschaubares Gebiet. Deshalb sei die internationale Kooperation wichtig.

Fabriken der Zukunft

Auch die Wirtschaft profitiert von den EU-Projekten. Wie man diversen EU-Berichten entnehmen kann, ging rund ein Drittel der Fördermittel aus dem 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm (FRP 7) an die Industrie. Prof. Frank Nüesch führt an der Empa die Abteilung «Funktionspolymere». Er leitet das europäische EU-Forschungsprojekt TREASORES, an dem insgesamt 19 Partner aus der Schweiz, Deutschland, Grossbritannien, Finnland und Spanien beteiligt sind – Universitäten, Technologieinstitute und Firmen. «Ziel ist, ein wettbewerbsfähiges Produkt zu entwickeln und damit die Industrie in Europa vorwärtszubringen», sagt der Koordinator. Dabei geht es um organische Solarzellen und Leuchtdioden, die in Zukunft in Quadratmetermengen zu einem günstigen Preis erhältlich sein sollen.

Bei den Solarzellen aus Plastik fängt ein Farbstoff das Sonnenlicht ein. Damit daraus Strom entsteht, braucht es mehrere Schichten aus organischen Halbleitern und Elektrodenmaterial sowie Barrieren, die die Zellen vor Wasser und Sauerstoff schützen. Werden diese Schichten auf ein flexibles Trägergewebe aufgebracht, kann man den Herstellungsprozess im so genannten Rolle-zu-Rolle-Verfahren abwickeln. Die aktiven Schichten auf Farbstoff- und Polymerbasis lassen sich auf den Bahnen am Laufmeter aufdrucken, trocknen und wieder aufrollen. Was im Labor bereits funktioniert, wollen Frank Nüesch und seine Kolleginnen und Kollegen im Rahmen des EU-Programms «Factories of the Future» für den grossen industriellen Massstab weiter entwickeln.

Aufträge für Schweizer Industrie

«Um dieses Ziel zu verwirklichen, braucht es die europäische Zusammenarbeit», sagt der Empa-Forscher, der international zu den Pionieren auf dem Gebiet der organischen Optoelektronik gehört. «In der Schweiz allein würden wir die Partner für dieses Vorhaben nicht finden.» Die billigen Solarzellen und Leuchtelemente sollen in Zukunft in Cambridge und München produziert werden. Schweizer Firmen können trotzdem vom EU-Projekt profitieren, als Zulieferer für die Grossindustrien. Eine Firma in Thal, die Gewebe für Siebdruck und Filterprozesse herstellt, entwickelt ihr Material mit Hilfe der Empa-Forschenden weiter, so dass es als transparentes, leitfähiges Trägermaterial dienen kann. «Ein originelles, kostengünstiges Konzept», urteilt der Fachmann und zeigt verschiedene Proben, die im Labor in Dübendorf getestet werden.

Ein zweites Schweizer Unternehmen, das sich am EU-Projekt beteiligt, stellt Folien für die Nahrungsmittelverpackung her – ebenfalls ein Kandidat für ein transparentes und undurchlässiges Trägermaterial. «Mit der Entwicklung des Rolle-zu-Rolle-Produktionsprozesses sensibilisieren wir aber auch die Schweizer Maschinen industrie für den Bau von Beschichtungsanlagen», sagt Frank Nüesch. «Nicht nur für die Empa ist das EU-Projekt ein grosser Gewinn.»

Die Fachleute sind überzeugt: Mit Hilfe der Forschungsresultate aus dem gesamten ETH-Bereich lassen sich Lösungen für drängende Probleme finden. Denn die technologische Innovation wird von Spitzenleistungen in Forschung und Bildung angetrieben. Daraus entstünden ökonomische Chancen für Schweizer Unternehmen und öffentliche Institutionen, sagt EPFL-Vizepräsident Philippe Gillet. «Die Schweiz ist eines der innovativsten Länder, von dieser Dynamik profitiert die ganze Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft.» Und unsere Hochschulabsolvierenden seien dabei die wichtigen Akteure von morgen.